The Dark Is Rising Sequence by Susan Cooper
Silver on the Tree; The Grey King; Greenwitch; The Dark Is Rising; and Over Sea, Under Stone

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews



Epic. Bestselling. Award-winning. The complete Dark Is Rising Sequence is now available as one keepsake collection. Will Stanton's ordinary life is shattered with the dreadful revelation that the Dark--the source of all evil--is rising in its last and greatest bid to control the world. He finds that he is no ordinary boy, but the last-born of the Old Ones, immortals dedicated to keeping mankind free from the Dark. Soon Will is swept up in the great battle, along with his ageless master, Merriman; the three Drew children, who are mortal but have their own vital part to play; and a strange boy named Bran. These six fight fear and death in a quest through time and space interwoven with the most ancient myths of the islands of Britain--until, at last, Will and Bran find the weapon that will ultimately vanquish the Dark. One of the most celebrated fantasy sequences of all time, The Dark Is Rising is a searing, epic rendering of the eternal conflict between good and evil. This complete collection includes "Over Sea, Under Stone; The Dark Is Rising; Greenwitch; The Grey King; "and" Silver on the Tree."

About Susan Cooper

See more books from this Author
Susan Cooper is the recipient of the Margaret A. Edwards Award for Lifetime Achievement. Her classic five-book fantasy sequence The Dark Is Rising won the Newbery Medal and a Newbery Honor and has sold millions of copies worldwide. She is also the author of Victory, a Booklist Top Ten Historical Fiction for Youth book and a Washington Post Top Ten for Children novel; King of Shadows, a Boston Globe-Horn Book Award Honor book; The Boggart; Seaward; and many other acclaimed novels for young readers and listeners. She lives in Massachusetts, and you can visit her online at
Published January 1, 2007 by Bodley Head Children's Books. 752 pages
Genres: Sports & Outdoors, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction, Education & Reference, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Dark Is Rising Sequence

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Before there was J.K. Rowling and a certain bespectacled young wizard there was Susan Cooper and Wil...

May 23 2006 | Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Continued on the next page Page 1 — Page 2 — Page 3 — Page 4

May 23 2006 | Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

(They weren't called The Dark Ages for nothing.) But in order for them to obtain complete domination they have to win through in our modern times and complete their circle of power, just as the Old Ones must win through to join their circle of protection against the Dark throughout the ages.

May 23 2006 | Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

The Bookbag

This book is intended as a child's book, and it is brilliant as book for children, but it is also well loved by many adults, whether as a cherished memory of their own childhood or as a book discovered as an adult.

Nov 09 2014 | Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

There is some fantasy violence and a young man turns against his benefactor and follows the forces of the Dark.

Jan 07 2017 | Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

Geek Speak Magazine

The Dark Is Rising and its sequels are quiet classics, and although they’re children’s books, they can be understood and enjoyed by adults on an entirely different level (younger readers may not pick up on a lot of the mythology;

| Read Full Review of The Dark Is Rising Sequence: ...

Reader Rating for The Dark Is Rising Sequence

An aggregated and normalized score based on 297 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review