The Dark Side of the Light Chasers by Deborah Ford

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

The bestselling, beloved classic on how to go into the dark side of yourself to bring out the light -- now with new material.

Debbie Ford believes that we each hold within us a trace of every human characteristic that exists, the capacity for every human emotion. We are born with the ability to express this entire spectrum of characteristics. But, Ford points out, our families and our society send us strong messages about which ones are good and bad. So when certain impulses arise, we deny them instead of confronting them, giving them a healthy voice, then letting them go.

It is to these feelings that Ford turns our attention, these parts of our selves that don't fit the personae we have created for the rest of the world. She shows us the effects of living in the dark, of keeping all our supposedly unsavory impulses under wraps. We find ourselves disproportionately frustrated and angry at the selfishness of friends, the laziness of colleagues, the arrogance of siblings. When we are unable to reconcile similar impulses in ourselves, Ford explains, we waste our own energy judging others instead of empathizing. But most important, we deny ourselves the power and freedom of living authentically.

Through the stories and exercises in The Dark Side of the Light Chasers, Debbie Ford shows us not only how to recognize our hidden emotions, but also how to find the gifts they offer us. This is for fans of Marianne Williamson, Neale Donald Walsch, and Deepak Chopra. The very impulses we most fear may be the key to what is lacking in our lives.
 

About Deborah Ford

See more books from this Author
Deborah Ford is a lifelong Southerner and the founder of Grits(r) Inc., a multimillion-dollar merchandising company specializing in women's apparel.
 
Published November 2, 2010 by Riverhead. 208 pages
Genres: Self Help, Health, Fitness & Dieting, Religion & Spirituality, Education & Reference. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Dark Side of the Light Chasers

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Everyone possesses the entire range of human traits and emotions--the saintly and the cynical, the divine and the diabolical, the courageous and the cowardly--contends Ford, a faculty member of Ca

Jun 01 1998 | Read Full Review of The Dark Side of the Light Ch...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Everyone possesses the entire range of human traits and emotions--the saintly and the cynical, the divine and the diabolical, the courageous and the cowardly--contends Ford, a faculty member of Ca

Jun 01 1998 | Read Full Review of The Dark Side of the Light Ch...

Spirituality & Practice

Search our database of more than 5,000 book and audio reviews.

| Read Full Review of The Dark Side of the Light Ch...

Reader Rating for The Dark Side of the Light Chasers
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 248 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×