The Dead Inside by Cyndy Etler
A True Story

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

An epilogue offers a redemptive conclusion, and an author's note provides chilling context for Straight's history and Cyndy's story. Raw and absorbing, Etler’s voice captivates.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

For readers of Girl Interrupted and Tweak, Cyndy Etler's gripping memoir gives readers a glimpse into the harrowing reality of her sixteen months in the notorious "tough love" program the ACLU called "a concentration camp for throwaway kids."

I never was a badass. Or a slut, a junkie, a stoner, like they told me I was. I was just a kid looking for something good, something that felt like love. I was a wannabe in a Levi's jean jacket. Anybody could see that. Except my mother. And the professionals at Straight.

From the outside, Straight Inc. was a drug rehab. But on the inside it was...well, it was something else.

All Cyndy wanted was to be loved and accepted. By age fourteen, she had escaped from her violent home, only to be reported as a runaway and sent to a "drug rehabilitation" facility that changed her world.

To the public, Straight Inc. was a place of recovery. But behind closed doors, the program used bizarre and intimidating methods to "treat" its patients. In her raw and fearless memoir, Cyndy Etler recounts her sixteen months in the living nightmare that Straight Inc. considered "healing."

 

About Cyndy Etler

See more books from this Author
A modern-day Cinderella, CYNDY DREW ETLER was homeless at fourteen and Summa Cum Laude at thirty. Today she works at an alternative high school, cheerfully teaching ex-convicts that books work better than drugs. She lives with her husband and dogs in Charlotte, North Carolina. Visit cyndyetler.com.
 
Published April 4, 2017 by Sourcebooks Fire. 304 pages
Genres: . Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Dead Inside
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Jan 17 2017

An epilogue offers a redemptive conclusion, and an author's note provides chilling context for Straight's history and Cyndy's story. Raw and absorbing, Etler’s voice captivates.

Read Full Review of The Dead Inside: A True Story | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Dead Inside
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×