The Dead Lie Down by Sophie Hannah
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 8 Critic Reviews



A heart-stopping novel of psychological suspense from the internationally bestselling author of The Wrong Mother and The Other Woman’s House

Ruth Bussey once did something wrong – horribly wrong – and was nearly destroyed by her punishment. Now, she has tentatively rebuilt her life and unexpectedly found love with a man named Aidan Seed. But Aidan also has a secret, and one day he confides in Ruth: years ago, he killed a woman named Mary Trelease. Ruth's initial horror turns to confusion when she realizes that she knows Mary Trelease, and Mary is very much alive. So why does Aidan insist that she’s dead?
The fourth book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Dead Lie Down is a sophisticated, addictive page-turner that will appeal to fans of Laura Lippman and Tana French.

About Sophie Hannah

See more books from this Author
SOPHIE HANNAH is an internationally bestselling crime fiction writer and an award-winning poet. She lives in Cambridge, England, with her husband and two children.
Published February 5, 2009 by Hodder & Stoughton. 560 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance, Literature & Fiction, Horror, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Dead Lie Down

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Picture framer Aidan Seed tells his assistant Ruth Bussey, his new lover, that he murdered Mary Trelease years ago.

| Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

They fall in love, and in a night of confessions, where they have agreed not to ask each other any questions about what they reveal, she tells him that she has done something bad in her past, and he tells her that he has killed a woman.

May 23 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

New York Journal of Books

See more reviews from this publication

The Dead Lie Down, set amid the dreary council estates and greasy pubs of suburban London, begins with an ingeniously compelling conceit: a once promising artist reduced to designing frames for other artists’ work confesses to a long-ago murder, even though his co-worker and lover discovers the s...

Jun 01 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

Book Reporter

“Most people were idiots, even those whose rank and years of experience might suggest otherwise” is a typical Simon observation --- no wonder he’s referred to by coworkers as “an arrogant turd.” As for Charlie, she becomes unhinged at the slightest reminder of the events of two years ago --- her ...

Dec 29 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

RT Book Reviews

Search books by title, genre, publication month, publication year, and rating or search by any combination of these options (i.e.

| Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

Mysterious Reviews

Not Reviewed: Lack of a review here may mean that the narrative and/or characters of this book did not capture the reviewer's imagination or interest within the first few chapters (or by page 31).

| Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

AUTHOR WEBSITE: Sophie Hannah EXTRAS: Reading Guide and Excerpt MORE ON MOSTLYFICTION: Other unusual mysteries: Death of a Writer by Michael Collins Something Might Happen by Jule Myerson Yes, My Darling Daughter by Margaret Leroy

Jun 04 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

Spinetingler Magazine

It takes a couple of hundred pages before any part of the intricate and convoluted plot makes any sense, and another hundred or so before any clarity takes place.

Oct 07 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dead Lie Down: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Dead Lie Down

An aggregated and normalized score based on 59 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review