The Devil's Ribbon by D.E. Meredith
(Hatton and Roumande Mystery)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 5 Critic Reviews



A trail of beribboned murders. A ticking bomb. A city about to explode.

July, 1858: London swelters under the oppressive heat of the hottest summer on record, and trouble is brewing. Forensic scientist Professor Adolphus Hatton and his trusty assistant, Albert Roumande, have a morgue full of cholera victims. The dead are all Irish, the poorest of London's poor. They came in their thousands ten years ago, forced into the London slums by the terrible famine. Now they live segregated from the rest of Victorian society, a race apart in this heaving city who are at once everywhere and nowhere. But they are a close knit people, and deeply politicised. From the docks in Limehouse to the taverns of St Giles, Fenian groups are talking of violence and of liberation.

When a series of violent murders threatens to cause tensions to boil over, Scotland Yard calls on Hatton and Roumande to help investigate. The seemingly unconnected victims, who hail from all strata of society, are linked by the same macabre calling card: a bright Fenian green ribbon placed strategically about their corpses. While Hatton's search for clues leads him into the spell of a blindingly beautiful woman, a widow of one of the slain, rumblings of a bombing campaign led by an agitator priest and his gang of would-be terrorists build throughout the slums. As the orchestra of veiled motives, divided loyalties, and violent retribution reaches a crescendo, Hatton's skills are tested to the limit. With Roumande, he must race across London to an island with a shipwreck and a secret on a nail-biting race against time in this gripping, elegantly executed Victorian mystery in the tradition of The Dante Club and The Somnambulist.


About D.E. Meredith

See more books from this Author
D.E. MEREDITH read English at Cambridge, then ran the press office and the land mines campaign for the Red Cross, travelling extensively to Bosnia, Afghanistan and Rwanda during the conflicts. She worked as a consultant on media relations for Greenpeace and other worthy causes before embarking on "The Hatton and Roumande Mysteries" series for St Martin's Press (DEVOURED, Oct 2010, THE DEVIL'S RIBBON Oct 2011). She has two boys, a tall husband, a barking (mad) Parsons Terrier and lives at a secret location on the River Thames. When not writing, she runs, rides her bike like a lunatic or eats home made cake. Visit her online at
Published October 25, 2011 by Minotaur Books. 302 pages
Genres: History, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Crime. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Devil's Ribbon

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Forensic scientist Adolphus Hatton and his capable assistant, Albert Roumande, are knee-deep in the corpses of poor Irish cholera victims when flamboyant, none-too-scrupulous Scotland Yard Inspector Jeremiah Grey asks them to investigate a suspicious death.

| Read Full Review of The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton an...

The Bookbag

Readers will enjoy the rich canvas of life depicted in these pages, and the tiny details (like the opium bonbons so beloved of Inspector Grey, and the momentary glance of a lady's ankle which utterly confounds Hatton) which tell so much about the period.

Nov 07 2011 | Read Full Review of The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton an...

Nights and Weekends

Blinded by a forbidden but growing love for her, Hatton races to put the pieces together, find a killer, and locate a missing man before the British and Irish clash in a deadly squabble that’s fueled by hatred.

| Read Full Review of The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton an...

Mysterious Reviews

Review: Professor Adolphus Hatton and his assistant Albert Roumande continue to develop and use forensic science to solve crimes in The Devil's Ribbon, the second mystery in this historical series by D.

| Read Full Review of The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton an...

Book Blogs

Although The Devil’s Ribbon is Book #2 in the Hatton & Roumande series, I haven’t read the first book and still found that Book #2 works just fine as a stand-alone novel.

| Read Full Review of The Devil's Ribbon (Hatton an...

Reader Rating for The Devil's Ribbon

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review