The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving by Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson
How Dogs Have Captured Our Hearts for Thousands of Years

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 6 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Dog lovers get ready – Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson, international bestselling author of Dogs Never Lie About Love (which the San Francisco Chronicle calls "winning and wise," and "a charming paean to our best friends"), is back with an inspiring, heart-warming, and deeply personal exploration of the unique relationship between humans and dogs. As in When Elephants Weep, The Face on Your Plate, an The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, Masson blends cultural mythology, scientific research, and stories of his own experiences to tackle deep questions about the emotional lives of humans and animals. His compelling, elegant, and often humorous narrative about the love people feel for dogs (perfect for fans of John Grogan's Marley & Me) gives a new perspective on the extraordinary relationship between our species.

 

About Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson

See more books from this Author
Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson is the author of twenty-five books, including the New York Times bestselling When Elephants Weep and Dogs Never Lie About Love, as well as The Pig Who Sang to the Moon, The Face on Your Plate, and The Assault on Truth. An American, he lives in New Zealand.
 
Published October 5, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 275 pages
Genres: Crafts, Hobbies & Home, Humor & Entertainment. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

More disputable is Masson’s claim that their relationship to stone-age man as guard dogs, hunting companions or even perhaps a manageable source of food was less important compared to the “far more profound…effect dogs had on our ability to feel love, affection, and friendship.” Equally controver...

| Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Masson (When Elephants Weep) explores the unique bond between humans and dogs in a humdrum and highly repetitive book that is illuminated at points by the author's odes to his own companion, Benjy, a

Jul 05 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

Examiner

Wulff a heart-warming tale 'Soldier Dogs, the untold story of America’s canine heroes' Kitty Cornered captures the comedy of keeping cats Hannah's Dream The Lost Dogs: Michael Vick’s Dogs and Their Tale of Rescue and Redemption

Jul 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

The Daily Beast

Americans can’t get enough of dogs, but two new books show the extremes that we’ll go with them—from Jeffrey Moussaieff Masson’s obsession with his dog’s love to Michael Vick’s crimes against them.

Nov 10 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

Oprah.com

Vibrant art, stirring photography, wacky dogs, distant lands, and a headline-by-headline guide to the past 157 years.

| Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

The American Book Center Blog

Of all of the animals that have come along with humans on the wild ride of domestication, none have travelled as closely with us as the dog.

Oct 04 2010 | Read Full Review of The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Lov...

Reader Rating for The Dog Who Couldn't Stop Loving
66%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 39 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×