The Dragon's Gate by Barry Wolverton
(Chronicles of the Black Tulip)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

In his signature style, Wolverton cleverly overlays intricate plotting with ancient Chinese legends and history (including the Dragon Boat Festival and the Terracotta Warriors) and creates a thrilling, fast-paced story that flies by.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

An engrossing fantasy, a high-seas adventure, an alternate history epic—this is the richly imagined and gorgeously realized second book in acclaimed author Barry Wolverton’s Chronicles of the Black Tulip, perfect for fans of The Glass Sentence and the Books of Beginning series.

A magical white jade stone and a map inscribed in bone that may be the key to an even greater mystery—this is the treasure Bren and Mouse have found buried on the Vanishing Island.

Mouse is determined to follow the map to a place called the Dragon’s Gate, convinced it will explain who she really is and the powers she possesses. Bren has had enough adventure for one lifetime and would like nothing more than to return to his father in Map. But nothing goes according to plan when the survivors of the Albatross are rescued by Lady Jean Barrett, a charismatic archaeologist with a sense of destiny.

Barrett is on a quest for the Eight Immortals, ancient artifacts she believes are buried in the tomb of China’s first emperor—the location of which has been hidden for nearly two thousand years. The only way for Bren, Mouse, and Barrett to all get what they want is to work together on a dangerous journey into the heart of China, a kingdom long closed to outsiders, where the greatest secrets about Mouse and Bren are waiting to be unveiled.

 

About Barry Wolverton

See more books from this Author
Barry Wolverton makes his debut with Neversink. The story was born out of his longtime fascination with arctic wildfowl and Scandinavian folklore. He has also written for National Geographic, Scholastic.com, and Discovery Networks. Barry lives in Memphis, TN. You can visit him online at www.barrywolverton.com.
 
Published November 1, 2016 by Walden Pond Press. 336 pages
Genres: History, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Dragon's Gate
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Aug 17 2016

In his signature style, Wolverton cleverly overlays intricate plotting with ancient Chinese legends and history (including the Dragon Boat Festival and the Terracotta Warriors) and creates a thrilling, fast-paced story that flies by.

Read Full Review of The Dragon's Gate (Chronicles... | See more reviews from Kirkus
×