The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart by Stephanie Burgis

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Aventurine’s human self is apparently white, but the cast of secondary characters is diverse: Marina’s business partner is a black man, and the pink-skinned king has two brown-skinned daughters. A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Aventurine is a brave young dragon ready to explore the world outside of her family's mountain cave . . . if only they'd let her leave it. Her family thinks she's too young to fly on her own, but she's determined to prove them wrong by capturing the most dangerous prey of all: a human.

But when that human tricks her into drinking enchanted hot chocolate, she's transformed into a puny human without any sharp teeth, fire breath, or claws. Still, she's the fiercest creature in these mountains--and now she's found her true passion: chocolate. All she has to do is get to the human city to find herself an apprenticeship (whatever that is) in a chocolate house (which sounds delicious), and she'll be conquering new territory in no time . . . won't she?

A classic fantasy with terrific girl power, perfect for fans of Shannon Hale and Jessica Day George.

Praise for Kat, Incorrigible
Bank Street Best Books of 2012
A Spring 2011 Kids' Indie Next pick
A 2012 ALA/ALSC Notable Children's Book
A Top 40 Pick for the Pennsylvania School Librarians Association
 

About Stephanie Burgis

See more books from this Author
Stephanie Burgis grew up in East Lansing, Michigan, but fell in love with Regency England when she discovered the novels of Jane Austen and Georgette Heyer. The author of Kat, Incorrigible; Renegade Magic; and Stolen Magic; she decided to be a writer when she was seven and sold her first short story when she was fifteen. Stephanie lives with her husband, fellow writer Patrick Samphire, their son, and their dog in Wales. Visit her at StephanieBurgis.com.
 
Published May 30, 2017 by Bloomsbury USA Childrens. 253 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Children's Books, Nature & Wildlife, Cooking. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on Mar 06 2017

Aventurine’s human self is apparently white, but the cast of secondary characters is diverse: Marina’s business partner is a black man, and the pink-skinned king has two brown-skinned daughters. A gloriously fresh story to be read with a steaming cup of chocolate at hand.

Read Full Review of The Dragon with a Chocolate H... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Dragon with a Chocolate Heart
100%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×