The Dream Life of Astronauts by Patrick Ryan
Stories

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

The Dream Life of Astronauts is a wry and smart collection — a beam of intelligent life from an author who clearly likes to probe the outer edges of the familiar.
-NPR

Synopsis

For readers of Tom Perrotta and Lorrie Moore, these nine unforgettable stories, all set in and around Cape Canaveral, showcase Patrick Ryan’s masterly understanding of regret and hope, relationships and family, and the universal longing for love.

NAMED ONE OF THE BEST BOOKS OF THE YEAR BY
St. Louis Post Dispatch • Refinery 29 • Electric Literature

The Dream Life of Astronauts balances heartbreak with wry humor as its characters try to make sense of the paths they find themselves on. A would-be Miss America auditions for a shady local talent scout over vodka and Sunny D; a NASA engineer begins to wonder if the woman he’s having an affair with is slowly poisoning her husband; a Boy Scout troop leader, recovering from a stroke, tries to protect one of his scouts from being bullied by his own sons; an ex-mobster living in witness protection feuds with the busybody head of his condo board; a grandmother, sentenced to driver’s ed after a traffic accident, surprises herself by falling for her instructor.

Set against landmark moments—the first moon launch, Watergate, the Challenger explosion—these private dramas unfurl in startling ways. The Dream Life of Astronauts ratifies the emergence of an indelible new talent in fiction.

Praise for The Dream Life of Astronauts

“[Ryan] displays a gift for excavating the dashed hopes and yearnings that lie beneath. He is especially adept at capturing the point of view of children, with a Salingeresque understanding of their alienation, their vulnerability, their keen powers of observation.”—Michiko Kakutani, The New York Times
 
“Quietly commanding . . . A wry and smart collection—a beam of intelligent life from an author who clearly likes to probe the outer edges of the familiar.”—Maureen Corrigan, NPR’s Fresh Air

“Ryan is a master of that old-fashioned, captivating storytelling that deceptively reads as effortless. . . . Ryan never actually sends his characters into space; but his orbits of the human heart are enough.”—The New York Times Book Review

“Ryan brings a wry sense of intimacy to these dreamers who are always searching for a better life, for something new.”—BBC

“Patrick Ryan’s short stories go down lightly—but that doesn’t mean they’re lightweight. In the best of them, Ryan’s transparent prose and seemingly casual tone sneakily ensnare you in tough moments and wryly rueful deflations of the heart and spirit.”—The Seattle Times

“You don’t have to be a rocket scientist to appreciate this funny collection of stories set around Cape Canaveral. Moon missions and shuttle launches take a backseat to the earthly predicaments faced by the eclectic cast of Boy Scouts, gangsters, grandmothers and beauty queens.”—The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

“There is humanity and heart in each one of these tales, all rendered with nuance and depth that will leave a mark on your thoughts long past the final pages.”—Refinery29

“Patrick Ryan’s characters are people who are a little more beaten down than they know. They are not introspective by default, and yet, due to circumstances, they are forced to look into themselves and find something that, in his own phrase, feels like life.”—Literary Hub

“The author illuminates [his] characters with pitch-perfect dialogue and period references that capture the various decades in which the stories take place.”—Publishers Weekly
 

About Patrick Ryan

See more books from this Author
Patrick Ryan was born in Washington, D.C., and grew up in Florida. His work has appeared in the Yale Review, the Iowa Review, One Story, and other journals. He lives in New York City.From the Hardcover edition.
 
Published July 5, 2016 by The Dial Press. 272 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Dream Life of Astronauts
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Apr 13 2016

Ryan highlights the quirks of ordinary life in a place known for the extraordinary in this sharp and funny collection.

Read Full Review of The Dream Life of Astronauts:... | See more reviews from Kirkus

NPR

Good
Reviewed by Maureen Corrigan on Jul 13 2016

The Dream Life of Astronauts is a wry and smart collection — a beam of intelligent life from an author who clearly likes to probe the outer edges of the familiar.

Read Full Review of The Dream Life of Astronauts:... | See more reviews from NPR

Reader Rating for The Dream Life of Astronauts
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 54 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×