The Dying Game by Asa Avdic
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Avdic’s debut, while painting an unsettling portrait of our possible future, lacks a compelling main character, and for all the book's calculated plotting, it doesn't add up to a satisfying read.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

A masterly locked-room mystery set in a near-future Orwellian state—for fans of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale, Dave Eggers’ The Circle, and Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games
 
Do you live to play? Or play to live?

The year is 2037. The Soviet Union never fell, and much of Europe has been consolidated under the totalitarian Union of Friendship. On the tiny island of Isola, seven people have been selected to compete in a forty-eight-hour test for a top-secret intelligence position. One of them is Anna Francis, a workaholic bureaucrat with a nine-year-old daughter she rarely sees and a secret that haunts her. Her assignment: to stage her own death and then to observe, from her hiding place inside the walls of the house, how the six other candidates react to the news that a murderer is among them. Who will take control? Who will crack under pressure? But then a storm rolls in, the power goes out, and the real game begins. . . .
 
Combining suspense, unexpected twists, psychological gamesmanship, and a sinister dystopian future, The Dying Game conjures a world in which one woman is forced to ask, “Can I save my life by staging my death?”
 

About Asa Avdic

See more books from this Author
Asa Avdic is a journalist who for years was a presenter for Swedish Public Service Radio and Television and is currently a host of Sweden’s biggest morning current events program. She lives with her family in Stockholm, Sweden. The Dying Game is her first novel.
Author Residence: Stockholm, Sweden Author Image 1
 
Published August 1, 2017 by Penguin Books. 287 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Crime, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Dying Game
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on May 15 2017

Avdic’s debut, while painting an unsettling portrait of our possible future, lacks a compelling main character, and for all the book's calculated plotting, it doesn't add up to a satisfying read.

Read Full Review of The Dying Game: A Novel | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Dying Game
65%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 12 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×