The Electric Church by Jeff Somers
(Avery Cates)

77%

7 Critic Reviews

The Electric Church is a must read for fans of Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, and Raymond Chandler, and will appeal not only to veteran cyberpunk readers but to all people who enjoy a good read.
-Blog Critics

Synopsis

Avery Cates is a very bad man. Some might call him a criminal. He might even be a killer - for the Right Price. But right now, Avery Cates is scared. He's up against the Monks: cyborgs with human brains, enhanced robotic bodies, and a small arsenal of advanced weaponry. Their mission is to convert anyone and everyone to the Electric Church. But there is just one snag. Conversion means death.

"Some debuts simply set new bars in a genre. Jeff Somers' THE ELECTRIC CHURCH is one such book, a gritty noir story that challenges and surprises with every page. A novel that is equal parts Raymond Chandler and William Gibson. A major new talent has arrived -- and it's about time!"
-- James Rollins, New York Times bestselling author of MAP OF BONES and BLACK ORDER
 

About Jeff Somers

See more books from this Author
Jeff Somers was born in Jersey City, New Jersey. After graduating college he wandered aimlessly for a while, but the peculiar siren call of New Jersey brought him back to his homeland.
 
Published September 25, 2007 by Orbit. 385 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science & Math. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Electric Church
All: 7 | Positive: 5 | Negative: 2

Blog Critics

Excellent
on Oct 30 2007

The Electric Church is a must read for fans of Neal Stephenson, William Gibson, and Raymond Chandler, and will appeal not only to veteran cyberpunk readers but to all people who enjoy a good read.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca... | See more reviews from Blog Critics

The Bookbag

Above average
on Oct 24 2009

With too strong a recycled feel this book could never be highly recommended.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

SF Site

Good

Jeff Somers has added some nice twists to the used-furniture setting.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

SFFWorld.com

Good
on Nov 05 2007

The Electric Church is solid title that should help to propel the US Orbit imprint and fit nicely on the shelves of most science fiction readers.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

SF Signal

Good
on Jul 24 2007

Excellent pacing; well-written action sequences; fun characters; dark setting.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

Austin Chronicle

Above average
on Oct 05 2007

His obvious talents intrigue and would work best in a less-formulaic story.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

Gather Books

Good
on Nov 04 2010

The Electric Church is a dark tale of bullets, black comedy, futuristic technology, politics and religion.

Read Full Review of The Electric Church (Avery Ca...

Reader Rating for The Electric Church
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 92 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review