The Engine's Child by Holly Phillips

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



From acclaimed author Holly Phillips comes a major work of visionary fantasy in the vein of Jeff Vandermeer and China Miéville. As richly detailed as it is evocative, the vivid prose of this ambitious novel illuminates a lushly imagined world poised on the brink of revolution.

Lanterns and flickering bulbs light the shadowy world of the rasnan, the island at the edge of a world-spanning ocean that harbors, in its ivory towers and mossy temples, the descendants of men and women who long ago fled a world ruined by magical and technological excess. But not all the island’s inhabitants are resigned to exile. A mysterious brotherhood seeks to pry open doors that lead back to their damaged, dangerous homeland. Others risk the even greater danger of flight, seeking new lands and new freedoms in the vast, uncharted sea.

Amid a web of conspiracy and betrayal, three people threaten to shatter this fragile world. Scheming Lord Ghar, faithful to lost gods and forbidden lore, plays an intricate power game; Lady Vashmarna, an iron-willed ruler, conceals a guilty secret behind her noble façade; and Moth, a poor, irreverent novice, holds perhaps the darkest power of all: a mysterious link to a shadowy force that may prove to be humanity’s final hope–or its ultimate doom.

From the Trade Paperback edition.

About Holly Phillips

See more books from this Author
Holly Phillips is a recent recipient of The Sunburst Award, which honours the best Canadian Literature of the Fantastic, for her novel In the Palace of Repose. Her other works include the novel The Burning Girl and numerous short stories. Holly Phillips lives near Trail, BC.
Published November 25, 2008 by Del Rey. 402 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Engine's Child

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The well-realized fantasy world and flashes of delightful prose nearly make up for the frustrating story and stilted characterization.

Nov 25 2008 | Read Full Review of The Engine's Child

Reader Rating for The Engine's Child

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review