The Ersatz Elevator by Lemony Snicket
(A Series of Unfortunate Events, Book 6)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In their most daring misadventure, the Baudelaire orphans are adopted by very, very rich people, whose penthouse apartment is located mysteriously close to the place where all their misfortune began. Even though their new home in the city is fancy, and the children are clever and charming, I′m sorry to say that still, the unlucky orphans will encounter more disaster and woe. In fact, in this sixth book in A Series of Unfortunate Events, the children will experience a darkened staircase, a red herring, an auction, parsley soda, some friends in a dire situation, a secret passageway, and pinstripe suits.

Both literary and irreverent, hilarious and deftly crafted, A Series of Unfortunate Events offers an exquisitely dark comedy in the tradition of Edward Gorey and Roald Dahl. Lemon Snicket′s uproariously unhappy books continue to win readers, despite all his warning.

Ages 10+

 

About Lemony Snicket

See more books from this Author
Lemony Snicket is often despondent, mostly about his published research, which includes A Series of Unfortunate Events and The Composer Is Dead. Brett Helquist's celebrated art has graced books from the charming Roger, The Jolly Pirate, to the alarming New York Times bestselling A Series of Unfortunate Events, to the cozy E. B. White Read-Aloud Award finalist bedtime for bear. He lives with his family in Brooklyn, New York.
 
Published October 13, 2009 by HarperCollins. 284 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Horror, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Ersatz Elevator

KidsReads

After much creepy adventure, including a dangerous rescue in an empty elevator shaft, the Baudelaire orphans are sure to meet up with Count Olaf (in a clever disguise, no doubt).

Feb 20 2001 | Read Full Review of The Ersatz Elevator (A Series...

A Patchwork of Books

Add your reply to Gina Marysol .

Sep 16 2015 | Read Full Review of The Ersatz Elevator (A Series...

Reader Rating for The Ersatz Elevator
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 524 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×