The Eye of the Sheep by Sofie Laguna

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

'Ned was beside me, his messages running easily through him, with space between each one, coming through him like water. He was the go-between, going between the animal kingdom and this one. I watched the waves as they rolled and crashed towards us, one after another, never stopping, always changing. I knew what was making them come, I had been there and I would always know.'..Meet Jimmy Flick. He's not like other kids - he's both too fast and too slow. He sees too much, and too little. Jimmy's mother Paula is the only one who can manage him. She teaches him how to count sheep so that he can fall asleep. She holds him tight enough to stop his cells spinning. It is only Paula who can keep Jimmy out of his father's way. But when Jimmy's world falls apart, he has to navigate the unfathomable world on his own, and make things right...Sofie Laguna's first novel 'One Foot Wrong' received rave reviews, sold all over the world and was longlisted for the Miles Franklin Literary Award and shortlisted for the Prime Minister's Literary Award. In 'The Eye of the Sheep', her great originality and talent will again amaze and move readers. In the tradition of 'Room' and 'The Lovely Bones', here is a surprising and brilliant novel from one of our finest writers.
 

About Sofie Laguna

See more books from this Author
Sofie Laguna originally studied to be a lawyer, but after deciding law was not for her, she trained as an actor. Sofie is now an author, actor and playwright. Her books for young people have been named Honour Books and Notable Books in the Children's Book Council of Australia Book of the Year Awards and have been shortlisted in the Queensland Premier's Awards. She has been published in the US and the UK and in translation in Europe and Asia. Sofie's first novel for adults, One Foot Wrong, was also published throughout Europe, the United States and the United Kingdom. Sofie has written the screenplay for the film of One Foot Wrong, scheduled for pre-production in 2014.
 
Published January 1, 2014 by Allen & Unwin. 311 pages
Genres: .

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Eye of the Sheep

https://booksellersnz.wordpress.com

( Log Out / Change ).

Apr 13 2016 | Read Full Review of The Eye of the Sheep