The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde
A Thursday Next Novel

77%

23 Critic Reviews

Reading a truly good book, the page opens like a trapdoor and you simply fall through. The Eyre Affair takes that feeling, the moment you lose the sense of yourself and become engrossed in the story, and creates high adventure and wild drama around the porous boundaries between fiction and real life.
-Guardian

Synopsis

The first installment in Jasper Fforde’s New York Times bestselling series of Thursday Next novels introduces literary detective Thursday Next and her alternate reality of literature-obsessed England

Fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse will love visiting Jasper Fforde's Great Britain, circa 1985, when time travel is routine, cloning is a reality (dodos are the resurrected pet of choice), and literature is taken very, very seriously: it’s a bibliophile’s dream. England is a virtual police state where an aunt can get lost (literally) in a Wordsworth poem and forging Byronic verse is a punishable offense. All this is business as usual for Thursday Next, renowned Special Operative in literary detection. But when someone begins kidnapping characters from works of literature and plucks Jane Eyre from the pages of Brontë's novel, Thursday is faced with the challenge of her career. Fforde's ingenious fantasy—enhanced by a Web site that re-creates the world of the novel—unites intrigue with English literature in a delightfully witty mix. Thursday’s zany investigations continue with six more bestselling Thursday Next novels, including One of Our Thursdays is Missing and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. Visit jasperfforde.com.
 

About Jasper Fforde

See more books from this Author
From the author of THE CHRONICLES OF KAZAM series, including The Last DragonslayerJasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out of the window and arranging words on a page. He lives and writes in Wales. The Eyre Affair was his first novel in the bestselling series of Thursday Next series novels, which includes Lost in a Good Book, The Well of Lost Plots, Something Rotten, First Among Sequels, One of Our Thursdays is Missing, and the upcoming The Woman Who Died A Lot. He is also the author of The Big Over Easy and The Fourth Bear of the Nursery Crime series, and Shades of Grey. More recently Fforde’s work includes The Last Dragonslayer, The Chronicles of Kazam series. Visit jasperfforde.com.
 
Published January 1, 2001 by Penguin Books. 400 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books, Romance, History, Travel, Crime. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Eyre Affair
All: 23 | Positive: 20 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Below average
on May 20 2010

While endlessly inventive, the invention here displays more whim than whimsy (names like Jack Schitt, Millon de Floss, and Oswald Mandias get a grin, but no more), and the world this young Welsh newcomer creates lacks the integrity that makes the best fantasies both startling and enduring.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Mary Hamilton on Aug 15 2011

Reading a truly good book, the page opens like a trapdoor and you simply fall through. The Eyre Affair takes that feeling, the moment you lose the sense of yourself and become engrossed in the story, and creates high adventure and wild drama around the porous boundaries between fiction and real life.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from Guardian

Guardian

Good
Reviewed by Mary Hamilton on Aug 15 2011

...I found myself lost in the story whatever format it lived in. Whether turning a page or pushing a button, the result is the same: an engrossing tale takes me away from the drab skies and public transport chaos of British summertime, transporting me to live temporarily inside the world of the story.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from Guardian

Blog Critics

Above average
Reviewed by Nick Danger on Mar 12 2004

While fans of literature and history will likely get the most out of this novel, there is enough solid writing for any reader to enjoy.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from Blog Critics

AV Club

Good
Reviewed by Noel Murray on Mar 29 2002

It's welcome news that the author already has a sequel ready to go to press, an atmosphere as magical as The Eyre Affair's is too special to be abandoned when the back cover closes.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from AV Club

AV Club

Good
Reviewed by Noel Murray on Mar 29 2002

The Eyre Affair is about people who have intimate, meaningful relationships with books, and about how reading can induce a dream-state so strong that the perception of history itself changes shape around the reader...he's also made an effort to keep his narrative tight and his characters colorful...

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N... | See more reviews from AV Club

Entertainment Weekly

Good
Reviewed by Lisa Levy on Mar 08 2002

Packed with ingenious ideas, The Eyre Affair will send readers scurrying back to the classics and looking forward to the next Next adventure...

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Pajiba

Good
Reviewed by Julie on Feb 06 2009

This was a breezy read and a great diversion-I’ll definitely be checking out the second installment of Thursday’s adventures.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

SF Site

Above average
Reviewed by Donna McMahon on Jan 06 2016

Fforde's prose style is tight and sparse, as might be expected of someone who writes for the film industry, and his habit of referring to characters by name, without other cues or reminders, occasionally makes it hard to keep track of the large cast.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Teen Ink

Good
Reviewed by ThermadorianGrey on Jan 22 2016

All in all, The Eyre Affair is an excellent story written by a quietly brilliant author not trying to impress anyone and never taking himself too seriously, and thus, it's a must-read as far as I'm concerned.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Curled Up

Above average
Reviewed by David Roy on Sep 29 2003

The Eyre Affair is a wonderful literary concoction. Creating a world where literature is king, Jasper Fforde has a masterful sense of style...It has everything from cloned dodos to time travelers to stories within a story...He's succeeded in writing a literary novel that doesn't necessarily take itself too seriously. He has fun, and so will you.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Fantasy Book Review

Excellent
Reviewed by Jasper de Joode on Oct 04 2015

The Eyre Affair shows a great combination of humour thriller, sci-fi, detective and fantasy, in my opinion this book really takes the fantasy fiction genre further...Combining funny and witty dialogues but also numerous literary ideas with the bookworms and names of several of the characters make this a terrific read...

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Parental Book Reviews

Above average
Reviewed by Shari Zinman on Oct 18 2015

I must praise Jasper Fforde for (1) making me like detective fiction, something I never have liked before and (2) creating a very believable feminine voice, a massive accomplishment considering how unbelievable this world is and considering that Fforde is a man.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Things Mean a Lot

Above average
Reviewed by Ana S on Aug 03 2010

I had fun with The Eyre Affair, but it’s not a new addition to my list of favourites, and I’m not sure how much of it will actually stay with me. However, this isn’t really a complaint, as I don’t think there’s anything wrong with a book being “merely” fun.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

The Literary Omnivore

Excellent
Reviewed by The Literary Omnivore on Jul 07 2009

The Eyre Affair is a thrilling mix of alternate history, science fiction, detective story, and action/adventure, with the cherry of metafictionality on top. Thursday Next’s literary adventures are not to be missed...

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Vulpus Libris

Above average
Reviewed by sharonrob on Feb 04 2011

For all his commitment to scene setting, characterisation, and social comment, Fforde does not neglect his plot...Between Hades, the Chronoguard, Spec Ops and the Goliath Corporation, the lives of Thursday and those close to her are fraught with danger, sadness and loss.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Pretty Books

Good
Reviewed by prettybooks on Oct 05 2012

The Eyre Affair is an intelligent and immensely fun adventure that’ll whisk you away to a world where books are prized and protected at all costs, but where anything at all can happen…

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

https://www.sfsite.com

Above average
Reviewed by Donna McMahon on Jan 22 2016

You don't have to be a English major to enjoy this rollicking novel -- in fact, you don't even need to have read Jane Eyre -- but it helps...his habit of referring to characters by name, without other cues or reminders, occasionally makes it hard to keep track of the large cast.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

My Books. My Life.

Good
Reviewed by Michelle on Jan 20 2011

These books are a little bit of everything: fantasy, mystery, romance, satire, science fiction, adventure, you name it. I highly recommend this series to everyone who loves books.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

http://www.greenmanreview.com

Good
Reviewed by Michael M. Jones on Oct 04 2015

Fforde has created a truly unique, fascinating new world, filled with over-the-top characters and an unforgettable atmosphere...In short, it's damned good, managing to combine wackiness and comic adventure without losing its grip on the suspension of disbelief that makes it all possible.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

http://www.complete-review.com

Good
on Oct 02 2015

Fforde has fashioned a wild, fantastical thriller. There are some terrible missteps along the way, including a dreadful meteorite-catching chapter, too much lingering war-melodrama, the ridiculous time-travel crap...Overall, however, the novel is an engaging one.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

I Will Read Books

Above average
Reviewed by Erik Lundqvist on Aug 08 2013

Not sure how the best describe how wonderful and weird the book is. If you have read The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams or The Laundry books by Charles Stross you might have an idea. Basically, anything could happen, and the least plausible outcome has the greatest chance of happening especially if it's funny.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

A Fantastical Librarian

Good
Reviewed by Mieneke on Aug 19 2013

If you’re looking for a whimsical, humorous, fun read with bonus dodo’s, Dickens, and daffodils, then The Eyre Affair is just the ticket.

Read Full Review of The Eyre Affair: A Thursday N...

Reader Rating for The Eyre Affair
79%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 789 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×