The Fatal Secret; Or, Constancy in Distress by Eliza Fowler Haywood
(Dodo Press)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Eliza Haywood (1693-1756) (born Elizabeth Fowler) was an English writer, actress and publisher. Since the 1980s, Eliza Haywood’s literary works have been gaining in recognition and interest. She wrote and published over seventy works during her lifetime including fiction, drama, translations, poetry, conduct literature and periodicals. Haywood is a significant figure of the long 18th century as one of the important founders of the novel in English. Her writing career began in 1719 with the first two installments of Love in Excess. Many of her works were published anonymously. Amongst her other works are Fantomina; or, Love in a Maze (1724), The Fortunate Foundlings (1744), Life’s Progress Through the Passions; or, The Adventures of Natura (1748) and The History of Miss Betsy Thoughtless (1751).

About Eliza Fowler Haywood

See more books from this Author
Published October 31, 2008 by Dodo Press. 48 pages
Genres: Romance, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review