The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois by James R. Glenn

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Trace the history of Illinois and its legal system—specifically the Fifth Judicial Circuit—with this historical account written by one of the circuit’s judges.

The circuit was created in 1897 and consists of Clark, Coles, Cumberland, Edgar, and Vermilion Counties. Its judges have sorted through complicated legal questions, and they’ve also done quite a bit of maneuvering in seeking office.

In this scholarly account, you’ll discover details of the Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois since statehood, a list of the judges and state’s attorneys who have worked in the court, and highlights from various elections that brought notable judges to office.

You’ll also learn about the achievements of various judges who went on to serve in the United States Senate, House of Representatives, Supreme Court, Court of Appeals, and District Court. Others proved their mettle in the Illinois Supreme and Appellate Court and as Governor of the State of Illinois. A few were notorious for their misdeeds, including the former state’s attorney who shot and killed his successor.

Whether you are a lawyer, judge, student, or history buff, you’ll be fascinated by the stories, facts, and insights in The Fifth Judicial Circuit of Illinois.

About James R. Glenn

See more books from this Author
Published February 24, 2011 by Trafford. 88 pages
Genres: History. Non-fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review