The Final Reckoning by Sam Bourne
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews



“The biggest challenger to Dan Brown’s crown.” —Mirror (UK)

When a man’s death at the United Nations turns out to be more than just an accidental shooting, unsuspecting Tom Byrne is plunged headlong into a deadly world of hidden fellowships, unforgivable crimes, and a 60-year quest for justice. From Sam Bourne—the #1 international bestselling author of The Righteous Men and The Last Testament—comes this fast-paced, gripping, and provocative thriller exposing the last great mystery of the Second World War. Perfect for fans of Raymond Khoury, Jo Nesbø, and James Rollins, Bourne’s The Final Solution is a tense and twisting tale of Nazi soldiers and Jewish Avengers, based on the true story of WWII survivors taking vengeance for the Holocaust into their own hands.


About Sam Bourne

See more books from this Author
Sam Bourne is the literary pseudonym of Jonathan Freedland, an award-winning British journalist and broadcaster. He is a weekly columnist for the Guardian (UK), having served as that paper's Washington correspondent. His work has appeared in the New York Times, the New York Review of Books, the Los Angeles Times, the Washington Post, Newsweek, and the New Republic. He is a regular contributor to the Jewish Chronicle (UK) and presents BBC Radio 4's contemporary history series The Long View. Bourne is the author of the New York Times and number one UK bestseller The Righteous Men, which has been translated into twenty-eight languages, and The Last Testament. He has also written two nonfiction works, Jacob's Gift and Bring Home the Revolution. He lives in London with his wife and two children.
Published December 7, 2010 by HarperCollins e-books. 437 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Final Reckoning

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

New thriller interweaves the story of the Jewish underground in WWII and contemporary revenge.

Sep 07 2010 | Read Full Review of The Final Reckoning: A Novel

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

Now much older and wiser, wiser to the point of cynicism, he is working a private practice in New York, dating models and taking on any client who has the money to make it worth his while.

Sep 07 2010 | Read Full Review of The Final Reckoning: A Novel

Book Reporter

As Byrne researches more into the background of Matzkin, he finds a young man with Aryan features who is able to escape from enslavement in a concentration camp and becomes part of a fledgling Jewish resistance group that goes by the acronym DIN --- Dam Israel Nokeam --- literally translated as “...

Dec 01 2010 | Read Full Review of The Final Reckoning: A Novel

The Jewish Chronicle

I wonder whether journalist Jonathan Freedland, in his alternative persona of thriller-writer Sam Bourne, winces when the Daily Mirror seeks to shower praise on him by calling him "the biggest challenger to Dan Brown's crown".

Aug 08 2008 | Read Full Review of The Final Reckoning: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Final Reckoning

An aggregated and normalized score based on 23 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review