The Fire Horse Girl by Kay Honeyman

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

“Fire Horse Girl” has a truly great intro section – I loved the details about China, the world of Jade Moon...It sets the stage and shows exactly what Jade Moon needed to escape plus how limited and bound she was by tradition...Jade Moon is a good heroine for young girls to read about. She is strong mentally as well as physically...
-Dear Author

Synopsis

A fiery and romantic adventure, perfect for fans of Grace Lin, Kristen Cashore, or Lisa See!

Jade Moon is a Fire Horse -- the worst sign in the Chinese zodiac for girls, said to make them stubborn, willful, and far too imaginative. But while her family despairs of marrying her off, she has a passionate heart and powerful dreams, and wants only to find a way to make them come true.

Then a young man named Sterling Promise offers Jade Moon and her father a chance to go to America. While Sterling Promise's smooth manners couldn't be more different from her impulsive nature, Jade Moon falls in love with him on the long voyage. But America in 1923 doesn't want many Chinese immigrants, and when they are detained at Angel Island, the "Ellis Island of the West," she discovers a betrayal that destroys all her dreams. To get into America, much less survive there, Jade Moon will have to use all her stubbornness and will to break a new path... one so brave and dangerous, only a Fire Horse girl could imagine it.
 

About Kay Honeyman

See more books from this Author
Kay Honeyman became fascinated with the topic of Chinese immigration after she and her husband adopted a son from China in 2009. THE FIRE HORSE GIRL is her first novel. Kay teaches eighth-grade English in Dallas, Texas, where she lives with her family. Please visit her website at www.kayhoneyman.com.
 
Published January 1, 2013 by Arthur A. Levine Books. 341 pages
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, History, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Fire Horse Girl
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Dear Author

Above average
Reviewed by Jayne on Feb 08 2013

“Fire Horse Girl” has a truly great intro section – I loved the details about China, the world of Jade Moon...It sets the stage and shows exactly what Jade Moon needed to escape plus how limited and bound she was by tradition...Jade Moon is a good heroine for young girls to read about. She is strong mentally as well as physically...

Read Full Review of The Fire Horse Girl | See more reviews from Dear Author

Reader Rating for The Fire Horse Girl
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 31 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×