The First Barsoom Omnibus by Edgar Rice Burroughs
A Princess of Mars; The Gods of Mars; Warlord of Mars

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


Edgar Rice Burroughs produced some of the earliest and most influential pulp science fiction stories in his John Carter of Mars (or Barsoom) series. His tales of an exotic, scientifically advanced but decadent and warlike society, packed with extraordinary adventures, beautiful alien women and non-stop action, appealed vastly to an early twentieth century audience, and have spawned many retellings and imitations, across a multitude of media. This omnibus volume contains the first three novels in the cycle: A Princess of Mars, The Gods of Mars and Warlord of Mars, and centre on the exploits of John Carter, mysteriously transported from an Arizona cave to the Red Planet and the exquisite Dejah Thoris, a princess of her people, and still contain much to delight and entertain the modern reader.

About Edgar Rice Burroughs

See more books from this Author
John Taliaferro is the author of "Tarzan Forever: The Life of Edgar Rice Burroughs," "Creator of Tarzan" and "Great White Fathers: The Story of the Obsessive Quest to Create Mount Rushmore," He lives in Texas and Montana.
Published January 3, 2012 by Benediction Classics. 546 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, Action & Adventure. Fiction

Reader Rating for The First Barsoom Omnibus

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review