The Five Children Omnibus by Edith Nesbit
Five Children And It; The Phoenix and the Carpet & The Story of the Amulet

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews



All three of E. Nesbit's delightful fantasies about the "Five Children" gathered together in one convenient ebook. In each, five children (Robert, Anthea, Jane, Cyril, and "the baby") stumble on something magical. "Resulting inevitably in a totally delightful chaos," according to the Reader's Guide to Fantasy. "The children are wonderfully real - given a magic carpet their inventive mischief with such an object is awe-inspiring," the Reader's Guide continues. "Nesbit's magic is most original, hinting at great wonder and strangeness!" The guide also calls the Five Children Trilogy, Nesbit's "best work." You will see why when you read about what happens when the Five Children discover an amulet in the form of a horseshoe that grows until it becomes a gateway through which the children can enter the past and future, and the unintended affect their new-found magic ring has the maid! Here is a long-recognized classic that mixes fantasy and humor. Nesbit's world will enthrall and enchant and delight you all at once.


About Edith Nesbit

See more books from this Author
Published August 2, 2004 by Spellcaster E Books. 656 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction