The Fix by Damian Thompson

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A clever look at an insidious consumer landscape, long on sharp observations and worried predictions but short on proposed solutions.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Addictions to iphones, painkillers, cupcakes, alcohol and sex are taking over our lives.

Our most casual daily habits can quickly become obsessions that move beyond our control. Damian Thompson, who has himself struggled with a range of addictions, argues that human desire is in the process of being reshaped. Shunning the concept of addiction as disease, he shows how manufacturers are producing substances like ipads, muffins and computer games that we learn to like too much and supplement tradition addictions to alcohol, drugs and gambling. He argues that addictive behaviour is becoming a substitute for family and work bonds that are being swept away by globalisation and urbanisation.

This battle to control addiction will soon overshadow familiar ideological debates about how to run the economy, and as whole societies set about “fixing” themselves, the architecture of human relations will come under strain as never before.

The Fix offers a truly frightening glimpse of the future and is essential reading for fans of Naomi Klein’s ‘No Logo’, Oliver James’s ‘Affluenza’ and Francis Wheen’s ‘How Mumbo-jumbo Conquered the World’.

 

About Damian Thompson

See more books from this Author
Damian Thompson is a recovering alcoholic who continues to wrestle with an addiction to collecting Classical CDs. He's the editor of the Daily Telegraph blogs, a lead columnist in print in the Saturday Telegraph, used to be the director of the Catholic Herald and has been described by the Church Times as a 'blood-crazed ferret'. @HolySmoke
 
Published May 24, 2012 by Collins. 293 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Political & Social Sciences, Science & Math, Self Help. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Fix
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Above average
on Mar 17 2013

A clever look at an insidious consumer landscape, long on sharp observations and worried predictions but short on proposed solutions.

Read Full Review of The Fix | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Fix
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 18 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review