The Forgetful Knight by Michelle Robinson

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Blunt’s whimsically detailed mixed-media illustrations employ a Fractured Fairy Tales aesthetic, depicting a carrot-topped white child knight and comically nonfearsome dragon; they suit the tone of the text neatly and greatly add to its comic effect. Kids will love this quirky quest and its uproariously unreliable narrator.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

This hilarious, Monty Python–style sendup of the classic knight-and-dragon story comes with jaunty rhymes and a fabulous twist ending

Mischief! Mishaps! Dragons! Here's the story of an intrepid knight, only our narrator can't quite remember the details. Did that knight carry a sandwich, or a sword? Was he supposed to fight a cat, or a dragon? A hilarious and unpredictable adventure ensues, building through laugh-out-loud rhymes until, at last, the narrator remembers his own role at the center of all the marvelous madness. Fans of Jon Scieszka's The Stinky Cheese Man, David Ezra Stein's Interrupting Chicken, all of Patrick McDonnell's and Mac Barnett's picture books will love this zany read-aloud adventure.
 

About Michelle Robinson

See more books from this Author
One of Michelle Robinson’s first jobs was writing radio ads. She wrote more than 6,000 before she got bored and moved on to writing stories for children. She now lives in Frome, England with her two children.

Author Residence: Frome, Somerset, UK

Author Hometown: Gloucestershire, UKFred Blunt never wanted to be an astronaut or drive a train when he grew up. Right from the beginning he knew he wanted to draw silly pictures for a living. Fred worked on all sorts of projects from advertising to animation, including designing an animated series of interstitials for the BBC. He now works mostly on children's books. He lives in Swindon, Wiltshire, UK, with his wife and two young children.Illustrator Residence: Swindon, Wiltshire, UK
 
Published July 5, 2016 by Dial Books. 40 pages
Genres: Humor & Entertainment, Nature & Wildlife, Action & Adventure, Children's Books, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Forgetful Knight
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Apr 13 2016

Blunt’s whimsically detailed mixed-media illustrations employ a Fractured Fairy Tales aesthetic, depicting a carrot-topped white child knight and comically nonfearsome dragon; they suit the tone of the text neatly and greatly add to its comic effect. Kids will love this quirky quest and its uproariously unreliable narrator.

Read Full Review of The Forgetful Knight | See more reviews from Kirkus
×