The Friendship Matchmaker by Randa Abdel-Fattah

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Lara Zany is known throughout the school yard as the Friendship Matchmaker-kids who need to make or keep a best friend call on her expertise and follow her hard-and-fast rules to find friendships. Lara's documented everything from friendship categories (the BOBF, or Bus Only Best Friend; the NL, or Nerdy Loner; the LBC, or Loner By Choice) to strategies (MAKF, or Make and Keep Friends; BTFP, or Bus Trip Faux Pas). And she's sure that her manual will one day be published by none other than Harry Potter's publishers.
But when new kid in school Emily Wong questions whether following such unbendable rules is really the way to true friendship, Lara and Emily decide to compete by each finding a LL a best friend. But Lara, a LBC, doesn't bank on finding her own best friendship in the most unlikely of places... In the tradition of Clueless or Emma, this is a funny and heartwarming story of celebrating individuality and finding acceptance.
 

About Randa Abdel-Fattah

See more books from this Author
RANDA ABDEL-FATTAH is the author of the YA novels Does My Head Look Big in This?, Ten Things I Hate About Me, and Where the Streets Had a Name. Her books are published around the world and she regularly gives talks and workshops at schools and writers' festivals. Randa lives in Sydney, Australia, where she works as a litigation lawyer and is also a human rights activist. www.randaabdelfattah.com
 
Published July 17, 2012 by Walker Childrens. 208 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Humor & Entertainment, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Friendship Matchmaker

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Seventh-grader Lara Zany's reign as the self-appointed "Potts County Middle School official Friendship Matchmaker" is in peril.

Jul 03 2012 | Read Full Review of The Friendship Matchmaker

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Seventh-grader Lara Zany is the self-proclaimed "official Friendship Match­maker" of Potts County Middle School, and she is drafting a manual filled with her top tips to send to "Harry Potter's publishers" when it's complete.

Jun 11 2012 | Read Full Review of The Friendship Matchmaker

Reader Rating for The Friendship Matchmaker
88%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 13 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×