The Fulcrum Files by Mark Chisnell

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating

Synopsis

The young, charismatic Ben Clayton was one of Britain's brightest boxing prospects, until the day he slammed a left hook into a fragile chin. Sickened by the consequences he turned away from the ring, and found solace in the arms of the beautiful Lucy Kirk.
Hitler's Challenge
On the 7th March 1936, after almost two decades of peace in Europe, Hitler ordered the German Army back into the Rhineland. It was a direct challenge to Britain and France. Still unnerved by the slaughter of the Great War, the politicians wavered. The French Army stayed in its barracks, while the aristocratic British elite watched from their country retreats.
Knife Edge
History was balanced on a knife edge, and MI5's Fleming White knew that if the German challenge was ignored, Hitler's grip on power would harden like setting steel. The result would be a bigger, bloodier war for which Britain was not ready. It was an outcome that White would do anything to avoid.
Ruthless
The ruthless spymaster pushed his pawns around the board and soon just one man could make the difference between war and peace, victory or defeat. And that man was Ben Clayton. Thrown into the maelstrom of plot and counter-plot, into a world of mysteries, murder, spies and traitors, Ben must battle not just to survive, but to protect all that he loved and held most dear - Lucy.
The Fulcrum Files is historical fiction, a political spy thriller with a twist of romance and murder mystery - read the opening chapters now with 'Look Inside'.
The Fulcrum Files has topped the historical mystery and the thriller chart on Amazon.com.
Mark Chisnell's previous thrillers include The Defector - also a #1 Thriller, at Amazon.co.uk and Amazon.de.
Reviews for The Fulcrum Files
This book satisfies sailing buffs, history fans, espionage addicts, and anyone else yearning for a good yarn.
Nina Sankovitch, Huffington Post, Thanksgiving for 2012 Books Review
What really impressed me though was the strong characterisation and plotting... Fans of David Downing or Alan Furst in particular should give this book a chance.
Crime Fiction Lover.com
Riveting plotting and engaging characters.
Read All Day.com
This is a well-researched historical thriller... a big book, well-worth settling down to. I shall be looking out for more.
Indie e-book review.com
This amazing, fast paced story emerged before my very eyes and I couldn't put it down.
Kindle Obsessed.com
 

About Mark Chisnell

See more books from this Author
Mark Chisnell writes the kind of stories that keep you turning the pages on holiday, and still thinking about them when you get back to work ...The books include the chart-topping thrillers, The Defector, The Wrecking Crew and The Fulcrum Files - as well as award-winning works of non-fiction.He's a former professional sportsman, and now also works as a broadcaster and journalist, writing for some of the world's leading magazines and newspapers, including Esquire and the Guardian.Probably his greatest achievement was hitch-hiking to Mt Everest base-camp in Tibet. In training shoes. Or maybe that was the stupidest.
 
Published March 29, 2012 by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. 426 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction

Reader Rating for The Fulcrum Files
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 29 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review