The Garden of Weapons by John Gardner

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


A shocking defection draws Herbie back to the most treacherous city on earth: Berlin
The younger British spies think of Big Herbie Kruger as a middle-aged relic from the early days of the Cold War. Only a few people know that Kruger is one of England’s most important agents—a quick-witted devil with more power than anyone knows. In 1955, Kruger established a German intelligence network with an unparalleled reach into the Soviet Union. Years later, he feels a twinge of sadness when he learns that his old KGB rival has run afoul of state security, and been forced to take his own life. But Kruger doesn’t count on the dead man’s lieutenant. Rather than face Moscow’s wrath, the Russian defects into Kruger’s hands—a bit of good fortune that soon calls up all sorts of old ghosts. In Berlin, the divided city, Herbie Kruger is about to be split in half.

About John Gardner

See more books from this Author
John Gardner, one of the authors of the well-known James Bond stories, was born in Northumberland, England on November 20, 1926. He attended Cambridge University and was a member of the Royal Marines. He became a journalist and a critic after leaving the service. Gardner's first novel was "The Liquidator" (1964) and it introduced the character Boysie Oakes. In the 1970's, he wrote a series of novels known as the Moriarty Journals, which brought back Professor Moriarty, Sherlock Holmes' nemesis. In the 1980's, the holders of the James Bond copyright commissioned him to begin a new series with 007. The first Bond novel written by Gardner was "License Renewed" (1981), which was a success. From that point on, Gardner produced a new Bond novel every year, with the exception of 1985, until he retired from the series in 1996. The Bond titles that followed were "For Special Services" (1982), "Icebreaker" (1983), "Role of Honour" (1984), "Nobody Lives Forever" (1986), "No Deals, Mr. Bond" (1987), "Scorpius" (1988), "Win, Lose, or Die" (1989), "Brokenclaw" (1990), "The Man from Barbarossa" (1991), "Death is Forever" (1992), "Never Send Flowers" (1993), "Seafire" (1994), and "Cold" (aka Cold Fall) (1996).
Published May 7, 2013 by Road. 256 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance. Fiction

Rate this book!

Add Review