The Gathering of the Lost by Helen Lowe

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 10 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

“Strange magic, dark treachery and conflicting loyalties, set in a well realized world.”
—Robin Hobb, author of Dragon Haven

“[Lowe] reinvigorates the epic fantasy with appealing characters and a richly detailed world.”
Library Journal

Sure to become an epic fantasy classic, Helen Lowe’s magnificent Wall of Night series is big, ambitious, and gorgeously drawn—a story of bravery, treachery, and cataclysm in a richly imagined world. The Gathering of the Lost is the second of four books set in a fantastic imperiled realm garrisoned by nine great Houses and protected from the terrible Darkswarm by the towering mountain range that gives the series its name. Supremely literate, brilliantly imagined and executed fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson, Guy Gavriel Kay, and Barbara Hambly, The Gathering of the Lost is populated by a grand cast of unforgettable characters, some still holding to the beleaguered Wall, others scattered in their quest for the fabled Heir of Night, who vanished from their midst five years earlier.

 

About Helen Lowe

See more books from this Author
HELEN LOWE is an award-winning poet from New Zealand. Her first novel, Thornspell, a retelling of Sleeping Beauty, was published by Knopf Books for Young Readers in September 2008. The Wall of Night is her first series for adults.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by Harper Voyager. 588 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Gathering of the Lost

The Bookbag

Lowe ensures her characters have enough to fight against – on personal and emotional levels as well as physically – for the struggle to be rendered heroic.

Mar 30 2013 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

A science fiction blog featuring science fiction book reviews and with frequent ramblings on fantasy, computers and the web.

Apr 03 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

Helen Lowe is an epic fantasy author and SF Signal contributor, and last year she won the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for her debut adult fantasy novel, The Heir Of Night (THE WALL OF NIGHT Book One.) Today, fellow speculative fiction author Tim Jones is talking with her about her writing and...

Dec 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

A science fiction blog featuring science fiction book reviews and with frequent ramblings on fantasy, computers and the web.

Mar 30 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

The Gathering of the Lost, second in the Wall of Night from Helen Lowe, has many similar strengths to those in the first novel, The Heir of Night (see my SF Signal review).

Dec 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

Helen Lowe is an epic fantasy author and SF Signal contributor, and last year she won the David Gemmell Morningstar Award for her debut adult fantasy novel, The Heir Of Night (THE WALL OF NIGHT Book One.) Today, fellow speculative fiction author Tim Jones is talking with her about her writing and...

Sep 06 2013 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

SF Signal

“Is the idea of a straight up hero old fashioned or out of date in this day and age?” And from there, move to: “What makes a hero (or heroine) a hero instead of merely a protagonist?” (To simplify, I’m going to use “hero” as a gender and species neutral term.).

Oct 10 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

Fantasy Literature

As with the first book, The Gathering of the Lost is divided into three parts (technically five and a prologue, but parts three and five contain only two chapters apiece), each with a distinctive setting, purpose and atmosphere.

May 03 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

The Booksellers New Zealand blog

( Log Out / Change ).

Apr 27 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

Shades of Sentience

Malian and Kalan have separated for their own safety, which divides the amount we can see and experience, enabling the book to move ahead faster than the first book in the series.

May 16 2012 | Read Full Review of The Gathering of the Lost

Reader Rating for The Gathering of the Lost
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 32 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×