The Genius of Jane Austen by Paula Byrne
Her Love of Theatre and Why She Works in Hollywood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A thoroughly researched, somewhat scholarly investigation of Austen’s oeuvre for devoted Austen fans with some background in literature.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this updated edition of Paula Byrne's debut book includes new material that explores the history of Austen stage adaptations, why her books work so well on screen, and what that reveals about one of the world's most beloved authors.

Originally published by Bloomsbury Academic in 2003 as Jane Austen and the Theatre, Paula Byrne's first book was never made widely available in the US and is out of print today. An exploration of Austen's passion for the stage—she acted in amateur productions, frequently attended the theatre, and even scripted several early works in play form—it took a nuanced look at how powerfully her stories were influenced by theatrical comedy.

This updated edition features an introduction and a brand new chapter that delves into the long and lucrative history of Austen adaptations. The film world's love affair with Austen spans decades, from A.A. Milne's "Elizabeth Bennet," performed over the radio in 1944 to raise morale, to this year's Love and Friendship. Austen's work has proven so abidingly popular that these movies are more easily identifiable by lead actor than by title: the Emma Thompson Sense and Sensibility, the Carey Mulligan Northanger Abbey, the Laurence Olivier Pride and Prejudice. Byrne even takes a captivating detour into a multitude of successful spin-offs, including the phenomenally brilliant Clueless. And along the way, she overturns the notion of Jane Austen as a genteel, prim country mouse, demonstrating that Jane's enduring popularity in film, TV, and theater points to a woman of wild comedy and outrageous behavior.

For lovers of everything Jane Austen, as well as for a new generation discovering her for the first time, The Genius of Jane Austen demonstrates why this beloved author still resonates with readers and movie audiences today.


 

 

 

 

 

 

About Paula Byrne

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 27, 2017 by Harper Perennial. 352 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Humor & Entertainment, Arts & Photography, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Genius of Jane Austen
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Above average
on Apr 30 2017

A thoroughly researched, somewhat scholarly investigation of Austen’s oeuvre for devoted Austen fans with some background in literature.

Read Full Review of The Genius of Jane Austen: He... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Rate this book!

Add Review
×