The Girl With No Name by Lynne Barrett-Lee
The Incredible True Story of a Child Raised by Monkeys

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews



The poignant story of a girl who overcomes unique hardship and deprivation—growing up with a troop of capuchin monkeys—to find ultimate redemption

In 1954, in a remote mountain village in South America, a little girl was abducted. She was four years old. Marina Chapman was stolen from her housing estate and then abandoned deep in the Colombian jungle. That she survived is a miracle. Two days later, half-drugged, terrified, and starving, she came upon a troop of capuchin monkeys. Acting entirely on instinct, she tried to do what they did: she ate what they ate and copied their actions, and little by little, learned to fend for herself.

So begins the story of her five years among the monkeys, during which time she gradually became feral; she lost the ability to speak, lost all inhibition, lost any real sense of being human, replacing the structure of human society with the social mores of her new simian family. But society was eventually to reclaim her. At age ten, she was discovered by a pair of hunters who took her to the lawless Colombian city of Cucuta where, in exchange for a parrot, they sold her to a brothel. When she learned that she was to be groomed for prostitution, she made her plans to escape. But her adventure wasn’t over yet . . .

In the vein of Slumdog Millionaire and City of God, this rousing story of a lost child who overcomes the dangers of the wild and the brutality of the streets to finally reclaim her life will astonish readers everywhere.

About Lynne Barrett-Lee

See more books from this Author
Based in Wales, co-author Lynne Barrett-Lee's first novel, Julia Gets a Life, was published by Bantam. Her most recent novel, Barefoot in the Dark, was shortlisted for the inaugural Melissa Nathan Award. Now married to an Englishman and living in Bradford, England, Marina Chapman plans to donate her share of the profits from this book to help finance charities that combat human trafficking and child slavery in Colombia.
Published April 9, 2013 by Pegasus Books. 336 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Nature & Wildlife, Science & Math, Political & Social Sciences, Law & Philosophy. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Girl With No Name

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Chapman tells the harrowing story of her being stolen from her home in Columbia in 1954 at the young age of four by unknown assailants and dropped in the woods to fend for herself. She found comfort a

Jan 14 2013 | Read Full Review of The Girl With No Name: The In...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

The improbable story of how Chapman was kidnapped from her rural Colombian village at the age of 5 and abandoned in the jungle.

Mar 18 2013 | Read Full Review of The Girl With No Name: The In...

Reader Rating for The Girl With No Name

An aggregated and normalized score based on 529 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review