The Girl from Felony Bay by J. E. Thompson

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

Bee and Abbey are amiable protagonists...their spunk and perseverance, combined with the realistic and richly developed setting, deliver considerable appeal. A successful turn by a promising new author.
-Kirkus

Synopsis


The last year has been rougher than sandpaper for Abbey Force and her dad. He’s in a coma after his accident a year back, wherein he was framed for a terrible crime he didn’t commit. And their home, Reward Plantation, an idyllic spot on the eastern coast of South Carolina, had to be sold to pay off his debt to society. Abbey is stuck living with her uncle Charlie, who, even in the few hours a day when he’s sober, ain’t exactly your ideal parental role model.



But it turns out the new family that moved into Abbey’s old house has a daughter named Bee. And she’s just as curious about all the No Trespassing signs and holes being dug out by Felony Bay, in the corner of what used to be Abbey’s home. It appears someone’s been poking around a mystery that dates all the way back to the Civil War—and it just might be the same someone who framed Abbey’s dad.



Fresh, funny, and heartwarming, Girl from Felony Bay is the perfect book for fans of Rebecca Stead’s Liar & Spy and Sheila Turnage’s Three Times Lucky.

 

About J. E. Thompson

See more books from this Author
J. E. Thompson spent twenty-five years as an investment banker before becoming a writer. He lives in Charleston, SC, not too far from the bays and plantations that inspired The Girl from Felony Bay, his first children's book.
 
Published April 30, 2013 by Walden Pond Press. 389 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Action & Adventure.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Girl from Felony Bay
All: 2 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 0

Publishers Weekly

Good
on May 13 2013

The girls make clever sleuths, well-drawn supporting characters offer both farce and intrigue, and the snake- and alligator-infested swamps provide sultry local flavor in this ethically nuanced and suspenseful whodunit.

Read Full Review of The Girl from Felony Bay | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Kirkus

Good
on Feb 13 2013

Bee and Abbey are amiable protagonists...their spunk and perseverance, combined with the realistic and richly developed setting, deliver considerable appeal. A successful turn by a promising new author.

Read Full Review of The Girl from Felony Bay | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Girl from Felony Bay
95%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 44 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×