The Golden Harvest by Jorge Amado

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews



Written more than 40 years ago, this novel--available for the first time in an English translation--traces the second generation fortunes of the cacao boom in Brazil. The cowboy "colonels" who tamed the wilderness are outmaneuvered and defrauded by the businessmen and shippers, who steal more with a contract than the old warriors could with an army of gunmen.

About Jorge Amado

See more books from this Author
Jorge Amado, August 10, 1912 - August 6, 2001 Elected to the Brazilian Academy of Letters, Jorge Amado possesses a talent for storytelling as well as a deep concern for social and economic justice. He was born in Bahia, Brazil, in 1912. Some critics claim that his early works suffer from his politics. Others commonly express reservations concerning Amado's sentimentality and erotico-mythic stereotyping. In the works represented in English translation, his literary merits prevail. The Violent Land (1942) chronicles the development of Brazilian territory and struggles for its resources, memorializing the deeds of those who built the country. Gabriela, Clove and Cinnamon (1958), which achieved critical and popular success in both Brazil and the United States, tells a sensual love story of a Syrian bar owner and his beautiful cook. Home Is the Sailor (1962) introduces Captain Vasco Moscoso de Aragao, a comic figure in the tradition of Don Quixote. In Dona Flor and Her Two Husbands (1966), Amado introduced the folk culture of shamans and Yorube gods. The protagonists of Shepherds of the Night (1964) are Bahia's poor.
Published August 1, 1992 by Avon Books (P). 359 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Golden Harvest

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Here, in the first English translation of a novel written some 40 years ago, Amado (Pen, Sword, Camisole, 1985, etc.) strikes off with his trademark exuberance—this time to tell the cautionary tale of how brokered cacao devastates the economy, ecology, and societal structure of the Brazilia...

May 20 2010 | Read Full Review of The Golden Harvest

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

At the center of Brazilian writer Amado's novel--originally published in 1944 and translated into English here for the first time--is the cacao tree, whose seeds are used in chocolate-making. Amado (

Aug 03 1992 | Read Full Review of The Golden Harvest

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

Amado ( The Violent Land ) chronicles the effects of a cacao boom--when ``not even gold was as highly prized--and bust on the people of Ilheus, a city in Brazil's south.

| Read Full Review of The Golden Harvest

Rate this book!

Add Review