The Great Fortune by Olivia Manning
The Balkan Trilogy 1

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review



Bucharest, Autumn 1939: newlyweds Guy and Harriet Pringle arrive in a city alive with contrasts and rumour, on edge with wavering loyalties and the tension of war. Guy, teaching at the university, throws himself into Bucharest life, embracing all around him. Harriet, struggling to adjust to married life and to her husband’s friendship with the over-attentive Sophie, finds life in a city cut off from the outside world less straightforward than she first anticipated.

About Olivia Manning

See more books from this Author
Olivia Manning, OBE, was born in Portsmouth, Hampshire, spent much of her youth in Ireland and, as she put it, had 'the usual Anglo-Irish sense of belonging nowhere'. The daughter of a naval officer, she produced her first novel; The Wind Changes, in 1937. She married just before the War and went abroad with her husband, R.D. Smith, a British Council Lecturer in Bucharest. Her experience there formed the basis of the work which makes up The Balkan Trilogy. As the Germans approached Athens, she and her husband evacuated to Egypt and ended up in charge of the Palestine Broadcasting Station. They returned to London in 1946 and lived there until her death in 1980.
Published January 31, 2013 by Cornerstone Digital. 288 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Great Fortune

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Olivia Manning's first novel on this list (A Different Face; The Doves of Venus- Abelard-Schuman) has received high praise in England, and there is no question that she is a writer with admirable virtues- notably intellect, irony and acuity.

Jul 14 1961 | Read Full Review of The Great Fortune: The Balkan...

Rate this book!

Add Review