The Great Suppression by Zachary Roth
Voting Rights, Corporate Cash, and the Conservative Assault on Democracy

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

A blistering account of concerted Republican efforts to quiet the political voices of minorities, students, and the poor...Solid reporting combined with engaging stories—even about campaign finance reform.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

In the wake of Donald Trump's victory in the 2016 presidential election, a deeply reported look inside the conservative movement working to undermine American democracy
 
Donald Trump is the second Republican this century to triumph in the Electoral College without winning the popular vote. As Zachary Roth reveals in The Great Suppression, this is no coincidence. Over the last decade, Republicans have been rigging the game in their favor. Twenty-two states have passed restrictions on voting. Ruthless gerrymandering has given the GOP a long-term grip on Congress. Meanwhile, the Supreme Court has eviscerated campaign finance laws, boosting candidates backed by big money. 

It would be worrying enough if these were just schemes for partisan advantage. But the reality is even more disturbing: a growing number of Republicans distrust the very idea of democracy—and they’re doing everything they can to limit it. 

In The Great Suppression, Roth unearths the deep historical roots of this anti-egalitarian worldview, and introduces us to its modern-day proponents: The GOP officials pushing to make it harder to cast a ballot; the lawyers looking to scrap all limits on money in politics; the libertarian scholars reclaiming judicial activism to roll back the New Deal; and the corporate lobbyists working to ban local action on everything from the minimum wage to the environment. And he travels from Rust Belt cities to southern towns to show us how these efforts are hurting the most vulnerable Americans and preventing progress on pressing issues.

A sharp, searing polemic in the tradition of Rachel Maddow and Matt Taibbi, The Great Suppression is an urgent wake-up call about a threat to our most cherished values, and a rousing argument for why we need democracy now more than ever.
 

About Zachary Roth

See more books from this Author
Zachary Roth is a national reporter for MSNBC. His work has appeared in The Atlantic, The New Republic, Slate, Salon, The Guardian, The Daily Beast, and the Los Angeles Times, among other outlets. He has also worked as a reporter for Yahoo! News and Talking Points Memo, and as an editor and writer for The Washington Monthly.
Author Residence: Brooklyn, NY
Author Hometown: London, England
 
Published August 2, 2016 by Crown. 256 pages
Genres: History, Political & Social Sciences, Education & Reference. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Great Suppression
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Excellent
on May 15 2016

A blistering account of concerted Republican efforts to quiet the political voices of minorities, students, and the poor...Solid reporting combined with engaging stories—even about campaign finance reform.

Read Full Review of The Great Suppression: Voting... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Great Suppression
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×