The Guinea Stamp by Alice Chetwynd Ley

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

“The Guinea Stamp” combines a little bit of “Sense and Sensibility” a touch of “The Scarlet Pimpernel” along with a fearless heroine who makes me think a little of Mrs. Peel – though without the karate chops – and a hero who has to keep on his toes to finally win his heroine.
-Dear Author

Synopsis

With England under the shadow of Napoleon’s invasion, the windswept coast of Devon has become a hotbed of intrigue—with spies and smugglers terrorising the county, no one is safe.

No respectable lady should concern herself with romantic notions of spies and smugglers, but Joanna Fineton does not care.

When she discovers double agent Captain Jackson breaking into her family home, she is suddenly swept up into a tangled web of lies and conspiracy.

Someone in the Fineton house is not who he appears to be—but can Joanna discover who the French spy is before his dastardly plan comes to fruition?

As the plot thickens and Joanna runs out of time to find the traitor, Captain Jackson’s grip on her heart tightens ever more — threatening not only to destroy her future, but England’s too…

‘The Guinea Stamp’ is an intriguing regency romance, perfect for fans of Georgette Heyer and Jane Aiken Hodge. It has also previously been published as ‘The Courting of Joanna’.

'A romantic page-turner from a master story-teller'. - Robert Foster, best-selling author of 'The Lunar Code'.

Alice Chetwynd Ley (1913 - 2004) was a British writer of romance novels. She was the sixth elected Chairman (1971–1973) of the Romantic Novelists' Association and was named honour life member. Her other titles include ‘The Georgian Rake’ and ‘The Jewelled Snuff Box’.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.
 

About Alice Chetwynd Ley

See more books from this Author
 
Published March 2, 2015 by Endeavour Press. 234 pages
Genres: History, Romance.
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Guinea Stamp
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Dear Author

Good
Reviewed by Jayne on Aug 10 2016

“The Guinea Stamp” combines a little bit of “Sense and Sensibility” a touch of “The Scarlet Pimpernel” along with a fearless heroine who makes me think a little of Mrs. Peel – though without the karate chops – and a hero who has to keep on his toes to finally win his heroine.

Read Full Review of The Guinea Stamp | See more reviews from Dear Author