The Hammer and the Blade by Paul S. Kemp

82%

19 Critic Reviews

Although it does take a little while to find its stride, The Hammer and the Blade gains strength as it goes on and finishes with some wonderful action and battle scenes.
-Owlcat Mountain

Synopsis

For readers of Brent Weeks, Joe Abercrombie, Peter V. Brett, and Scott Lynch comes the first book in a fantastic, hilarious new sword-and-sorcery series that puts a clever new twist on the golden age of epic fantasy.

Robbing tombs for fun and profit might not be a stable career, but Egil and Nix aren’t in it for the long-term prospects. Egil is the hammer-wielding warrior-priest of a discredited god. Nix is a roguish thief with just enough knowledge of magic to conjure up trouble. Together, they seek riches and renown, yet often find themselves enlisted in lost causes—generally against their will.

So why should their big score be any different? The trouble starts when Nix and Egil kill the demonic guardian of a long-lost crypt, nullifying an ancient pact made by the ancestors of an obscenely powerful wizard. Now the wizard will stop at nothing to keep that power from slipping away, even if it means freeing a rapacious beast from its centuries-old prison. And who better than Egil and Nix—the ones responsible for his current predicament—to perform this thankless task?

Praise for The Hammer and the Blade and Paul S. Kemp

“A gripping tale [with] the feeling of a classic Dungeons & Dragons campaign.”—Publishers Weekly

“Most heroes work up to killing demons. Egil and Nix start there and pick up the pace.”—Elaine Cunningham, author of the Thorn Trilogy

“Kemp delivers sword and sorcery at its rollicking best, after the fashion of Fritz Leiber’s Fafhrd and the Gray Mouser.”—Library Journal

 

About Paul S. Kemp

See more books from this Author
Paul S. Kemp is a lawyer.  That is bad.  He is also the bestselling author of the Erevis Cale sword and sorcery stories and several Star Wars novels.  That is good.  It's a little known fact that Paul has maimed eight men and three llamas using only an unsharpened pencil and a stick of Wrigley's gum.  Now you know, too.  He does not hum show tunes.  Paul lives in Michigan with his wife and twin sons. 
 
Published September 1, 2015 by Del Rey. 350 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction, History, Action & Adventure, Horror. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Hammer and the Blade
All: 19 | Positive: 19 | Negative: 0

Tor

Excellent
Reviewed by Alex Brown on Jun 26 2012

This is good old-fashioned high-frolicking fantasy adventure.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Geek Life

Excellent
Reviewed by Cape Rust on Jul 05 2012

This novel gives the reader exactly what they would expect from a sword and sorcery novel but in the most unexpected ways.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Lit Stack

Good
Reviewed by Elisha Dew on Aug 02 2012

Strongly reminiscent of Fritz Leiber, The Hammer and the Blade is classic sword and sorcery.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

The Founding Fields

Good
Reviewed by Shadowhawk on May 21 2012

The Hammer and The Blade is a truly fantastic novel that deserves to be out there with the best of the best and is a novel that I’d say is a recommended read for the Sword & Sorcery fantasy sub-genre.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Graeme's Fantasy Book Review

Good
Reviewed by Graeme Flory on Apr 18 2012

...is a rip roaring example of what ‘Sword & Sorcery’ should be all about and this bodes well for future works in the series.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Grasping For The Wind

Good
Reviewed by John Ottinger III. on Jul 17 2012

...is great. Lots of action, cool magic, pragmatic antiheroes, and fantastic settings make this a must read for the S&S fan.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

King of the Nerds!!!

Good
Reviewed by Mike on Sep 04 2012

The Hammer and the Blade is an enjoyable novel that fans of old school sword and sorcery fiction will likely enjoy.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

I Will Read Books

Good
Reviewed by Erik Lundqvist on May 24 2012

The Hammer and the Blade was certainly a book I'll remember for being fun and action packed.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Owlcat Mountain

Good
Reviewed by Owlcat Mountain on Oct 25 2012

Although it does take a little while to find its stride, The Hammer and the Blade gains strength as it goes on and finishes with some wonderful action and battle scenes.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

A Fantastical Librarian

Good
Reviewed by Mieneke on Jun 29 2012

The book is a great romp of a story that will leave you grinning at its characters and humour and leave you cheering when they save the day.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Fantasy Book Critic

Good
Reviewed by David Craddock on Oct 08 2012

I was smitten to the point of distraction and I hadn't even finished the third chapter.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Odd Engine

Good
Reviewed by Peter on Aug 19 2012

It is a traditional Sword and Sorcery tale with smart writing, good humor (on occasion I laughed out loud), interesting characters, and great action.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Bibliotropic

Good
Reviewed by Ria on Jun 26 2012

What really made this novel shine for me was the dialogue. Honestly, the banter between Nix and Egil could keep me amused for hours, and they played off each other so well, as all great partnerships inevitably do.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Stefan's Bookshelf

Good
Reviewed by Stefan on Apr 19 2012

The Hammer and the Blade is swords and sorcery at its best.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

World Writ Small

Good
Reviewed by Sven Nomadsson on Jun 13 2012

The Hammer and the Blade was entertaining and quick. I finished it within two days and enjoyed it throughout.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Civilian Reader

Good
Reviewed by Stefan Fergus on Mar 08 2012

It is a dark, action-packed adventure sure to appeal to fans of sword and sorcery. I really enjoyed this.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Fantasy Opinion

Good
Reviewed by Johann Pollard on Aug 14 2012

Ah, now this was fun. Some good old fashioned sword and sorcery, hack and slash adventure. It was like a good brain scrub, reminding me of my childhood.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

A Fantasy Reader

Good
Reviewed by Phil on Aug 08 2012

I would recommend this book to all those who love 'roller coaster' adventures within a sword and sorcery setting.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Osga Book Reviews.

Good
Reviewed by Ala on Jul 23 2012

The story itself is fast-paced and action packed with fights aplenty. Add in the tomb robbing and a bordello brawl and you’ve got the makings of an excellent adventure.

Read Full Review of The Hammer and the Blade

Reader Rating for The Hammer and the Blade
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 155 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×