The Hearts We Sold by Emily Lloyd-Jones

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The slowly revealed lore of the demons coupled with Dee’s adventures make for a whirlwind of a page-turner. Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable.
-Kirkus

Synopsis


A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo

When Dee Moreno makes a deal with a devil--her heart in exchange for an escape from a disastrous home life--she finds her trade may be more than she bargained for. And becoming "heartless" is only the beginning. What lies ahead is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined.

With reality turned on its head, Dee has only a group of other deal-making teens to keep her grounded, including the charming but secretive James Lancer. And as something like love grows between them amidst an otherworldly ordeal, Dee begins to wonder: can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give?

The Hearts We Sold is a Faustian tale for the modern age that will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.

 

About Emily Lloyd-Jones

See more books from this Author
Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night. Illusive is her debut novel.
 
Published August 8, 2017 by Little, Brown Books for Young Readers. 401 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Horror, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Hearts We Sold
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on May 15 2017

The slowly revealed lore of the demons coupled with Dee’s adventures make for a whirlwind of a page-turner. Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable.

Read Full Review of The Hearts We Sold | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Hearts We Sold
82%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 7 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×