The Horizontal World by Debra Marquart
Growing Up Wild in the Middle of Nowhere: a Memoir

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

In the tradition of John McPhee and Kathleen Norris, a wry, moving memoir about a family farm, a father, and a daughter, and how you can't not go home again.
 

About Debra Marquart

See more books from this Author
Debra Marquart is the coordinator of the Creative Writing Program at Iowa State University. She is the author of The Hunger Bone: Rock & Roll Stories, and the poetry collections Everything's a Verb and From Sweetness. Marquart's essays have appeared in Best American Essays, and she has won the Shelby Foote Nonfiction Prize (Faulkner Society), the Writer's Digest Nonfiction Award, and a Pushcart Prize. She lives in Ames, Iowa.
 
Published July 3, 2006 by Counterpoint. 304 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, History, Literature & Fiction. Non-fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Horizontal World

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Marquart details her rebellious 20s, during which she toured with rock bands and never had enough money for food or rent, and she makes it clear that she eventually landed on her feet as an associate professor of English at Iowa State, but she never fully explains how she got from touring to teac...

| Read Full Review of The Horizontal World: Growing...

The New York Times

See more reviews from this publication

Born into an agricultural family in North Dakota, Marquart managed to escape the farm for a peripatetic career as a rock musician, poet and English teacher.

Jul 30 2006 | Read Full Review of The Horizontal World: Growing...

Reader Rating for The Horizontal World
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 28 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review