The House at Tyneford by Natasha Solomons
A Novel

97%

6 Critic Reviews

... its similarities to Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre are striking, including extensive descriptions of the landscape and nature, an old English estate, and common themes, characters, and plot devices.
-NY Journal of Books

Synopsis

The start of an affair, the end of an era.

Fans of Kate Morton's The Forgotten Garden, Catherine Bailey's The Secret Rooms, and TV's Downton Abbey will love this New York Times bestselling sweeping historical novel of love and loss. It's the spring of 1938 and no longer safe to be a Jew in Vienna. Nineteen-year-old Elise Landau is forced to leave her glittering life of parties and champagne to become a parlor maid in England. She arrives at Tyneford, the great house on the bay, where servants polish silver and serve drinks on the lawn. But war is coming, and the world is changing. When the master of Tyneford's young son, Kit, returns home, he and Elise strike up an unlikely friendship that will transform Tyneford—and Elise—forever.
 

About Natasha Solomons

See more books from this Author
Natasha Solomons is a screenwriter and the New York Times bestselling author of The Gallery of Vanished Husbands, The House at Tyneford, and Mr. Rosenblum Dreams in English. She lives in Dorset, England, with her husband and young son.
 
Published December 27, 2011 by Plume. 384 pages
Genres: History, Literature & Fiction, Romance. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The House at Tyneford
All: 6 | Positive: 6 | Negative: 0

Examiner

Excellent
on Dec 07 2012

"The House at Tyenford" is beautifully written. Full of delicious descriptions, powerful writing, and compelling characters, Solomons has created a novel that readers will disappear into.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel

Examiner

Excellent
on Jun 20 2012

At once a moving love story and a requiem for the grand English country house, "The House at Tyneford" is an unforgettable tale of one woman's life during wartime.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel

NY Journal of Books

Good
on Dec 27 2011

... its similarities to Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre are striking, including extensive descriptions of the landscape and nature, an old English estate, and common themes, characters, and plot devices.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

RT Book Reviews

Excellent

...the ending feels stupefying yet entirely natural and inevitable, and will no doubt have readers shedding a tear or two.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel

Historical Novel Society

Excellent

This is a book that will make your heart ache, but some aches are more sweet than bitter. The House at Tyneford is very highly recommended.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel

Cleveland.com

Excellent
on Jan 06 2012

Permeated with an exquisite sadness, it reminded me more of "Atonement" than "Downton," but yes, the cover teaser was right: I adored this book.

Read Full Review of The House at Tyneford: A Novel

Reader Rating for The House at Tyneford
78%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 613 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Mary Hugessen

Mary Hugessen 5 Sep 2013

Added the book to want to read list

×