The Innocent Man by John Grisham

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 3 Critic Reviews

Grisham recounts details well in this book, but has not produced the sort of page turner that his fans have come to love.
-About.com Bestsellers

Synopsis

#1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • In the vein of Serial and Making a Murderer, John Grisham’s first work of nonfiction will terrify anyone who believes in the presumption of innocence. Impeccably researched, grippingly told, filled with eleventh-hour drama, it’s a book no American can afford to miss.
 
In the town of Ada, Oklahoma, Ron Williamson was going to be the next Mickey Mantle. But on his way to the Big Leagues, Ron stumbled, his dreams broken by drinking, drugs, and women. Then, on a winter night in 1982, not far from Ron’s home, a young cocktail waitress named Debra Sue Carter was savagely murdered. The investigation led nowhere. Until, on the flimsiest evidence, it led to Ron Williamson. The washed-up small-town hero was charged, tried, and sentenced to death—in a trial littered with lying witnesses and tainted evidence that would shatter a man’s already broken life, and let a true killer go free.
 
Praise for The Innocent Man
 
“Grisham has written both an American tragedy and his strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be true.”—Entertainment Weekly
 
“Grisham has crafted a legal thriller every bit as suspenseful and fast-paced as his bestselling fiction.”—The Boston Globe
 
“A gritty, harrowing true-crime story.”—Time
 
“A triumph.”—The Seattle Times

BONUS: This edition includes an excerpt from John Grisham’s The Litigators.

 

About John Grisham

See more books from this Author
Since first publishing A Time to Kill in 1988, Grisham has written one novel a year (his other books are The Firm, The Pelican Brief, The Client, The Chamber, The Rainmaker, The Runaway Jury, The Partner, The Street Lawyer, The Testament, The Brethren, A Painted House, Skipping Christmas, The Summons, The King of Torts, Bleachers, The Last Juror, and The Broker) and all of them have become international bestsellers. The Innocent Man (October 2006) marks his first foray into non-fiction. Grisham lives with his wife Renee and their two children Ty and Shea. The family splits their time between their Victorian home on a farm in Mississippi and a plantation near Charlottesville, VA.
 
Published March 27, 2012 by Perfection Learning. 435 pages
Genres: Biographies & Memoirs, Political & Social Sciences, Crime, Professional & Technical, Law & Philosophy, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Education & Reference, History. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Innocent Man
All: 3 | Positive: 2 | Negative: 1

Book Reporter

Good
Reviewed by Stuart Shiffman on Jan 22 2011

...in a voice loud and clear and through a book that fully explains why the nation needs to reexamine the process by which we sentence criminals to be executed.

Read Full Review of The Innocent Man

Entertainment Weekly

Good
Reviewed by Jennifer Reese on Oct 11 2006

Grisham has written both an American tragedy and his strongest legal thriller yet, all the more gripping because it happens to be true.

Read Full Review of The Innocent Man

About.com Bestsellers

Below average
Reviewed by Erin Collazo Miller on Jan 20 2016

Grisham recounts details well in this book, but has not produced the sort of page turner that his fans have come to love.

Read Full Review of The Innocent Man

Reader Rating for The Innocent Man
75%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1959 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×