The Inquisitor by Catherine Jinks
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 2 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

I hereby record those events which took place in and around the city of Lazet relating to the assassination of our venerable Brother Augustin Duese in the year of the Incarnate Word, 1318.

So writes Brother Bernard, an Inquisitor of Heretical Depravity, following the discovery of his superior's dismembered corpse. At a time when heresy is a heinous offence, routed out with ruthless determination, Brother Bernard is accustomed to dispensing harsh justice. But as he attempts to make sense of this shocking crime, he himself becomes an object of persecution-thanks to his passionate involvement with a mysterious suspect and her beautiful daughter.

Pursued as a heretic, implicated as a murderer, Bernard must now face his accusers. To fail such a task, in fourteenth century France, means certain death.

In the tradition of The Name of the Rose, Catherine Jinks has crafted a magnificent tale of murder, forbidden lust and betrayal.
 

About Catherine Jinks

See more books from this Author
Catherine Jinks was born in Brisbane, Queensland, in 1963. She grew up in Papua New Guinea and later spent four years studying medieval history at the University of Sydney. After working for several years as a journalist, she now lives in the Blue Mountains with her husband, Peter, and their daughter.
 
Published October 7, 2014 by Minotaur Books. 400 pages
Genres: History, Religion & Spirituality, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Inquisitor

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Ascetic and ill, Father Augustin nonetheless begins scrutinizing Father Jacques and several cases in which important local figures were found free of heresy.

| Read Full Review of The Inquisitor: A Novel

The Copperfield Review

Jinks takes us back to 14th century France during a time of active Inquisition by the Holy Roman Church which was actively seeking out heretics such as Cathars and Gnostics as well as individuals who happened to profess something that disagreed with church doctrine.

May 02 2012 | Read Full Review of The Inquisitor: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Inquisitor
90%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 5 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×