The Inquisitor's Key by Jefferson Bass

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 9 Critic Reviews

In this case, the history and the contemporary crimes didn't mix. It works as a historical thriller, however it doesn't stand out as a unique, exciting story.
-Lesa's Book Critiques

Synopsis

The most riveting and ambitious novel to date in Jefferson Bass’ New York Times bestselling Body Farm mystery series, The Inquisitor’s Key takes forensic investigator Dr. Bill Brockton to Avignon, France, and embroils him in a deadly religious mystery that could shake the Vatican itself to its very foundations.  Another sterling crime novel in the vein of Patricia Cornwell, Kathy Reichs, and Karin Slaughter, as well as TV’s C.S.I., The Inquisitor’s Key adds a touch of James Rollins and The Da Vinci Code to the typically acclaimed Jefferson Bass mix of suspense, surprise, and finely detailed forensic investigation.

 

About Jefferson Bass

See more books from this Author
Jefferson Bass is the writing team of Jon Jefferson and Dr. Bill Bass. Dr. Bass, a world-renowned forensic anthropologist, is the creator of the University of Tennessee's Anthropology Research Facility, widely known as the Body Farm. He is the author or coauthor of more than two hundred scientific publications, as well as a critically acclaimed memoir about his career at the Body Farm, Death's Acre. Dr. Bass is also a dedicated teacher, honored as U.S. Professor of the Year by the Council for Advancement and Support of Education. Jon Jefferson is a veteran journalist, writer, and documentary filmmaker. His writings have been published in the New York Times, Newsweek, USA Today, and Popular Science and broadcast on National Public Radio. The coauthor of Death's Acre, he is also the writer and producer of two highly rated National Geographic documentaries about the Body Farm.
 
Published May 8, 2012 by William Morrow. 525 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Inquisitor's Key
All: 9 | Positive: 7 | Negative: 2

Kirkus

Below average
Reviewed by Kirkus Reviews on May 15 2012

But as competent as this book is, it lacks the swirling dramatic intensity of The Da Vinci Code, which Brockton mentions in passing, and the suspense is less than gripping.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key | See more reviews from Kirkus

Tulsa World

Excellent
Reviewed by Jeff Nix on Jun 24 2012

A little of this legend, a little of that story, a dab of poetic license...and this book ends up a good mix of anthropology, religious history, love triangle, violence and betrayal.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

Star News Online

Excellent
Reviewed by Ben Steelman on May 06 2012

The whole thing spirals toward an ending that feels like a parody of every suspense thriller set in Europe...Until the last few chapters, though, "The Inquisitor's Key" holds together quite well.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

The Daily News

Excellent
Reviewed by Regina Angeli on May 12 2012

On the lighter side, the duo give a marvelous discussion on the medieval church's obsession with relics...

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

Jenn's Bookshelves

Good
Reviewed by Jenn on Apr 17 2012

The fact that this dynamic writing duo was able to take on such a controversial subject matter with such zeal and skill really raised the level of respect I have for these two individuals.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

From Left to Write

Good
Reviewed by Thien-Kim Lam. on May 18 2012

The main characters in the book were definitely relatable...I also really liked the way the narrative shifted from past to present – it was an excellent way to get immersed in the story.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

Lesa's Book Critiques

Below average
Reviewed by Lesa on May 03 2012

In this case, the history and the contemporary crimes didn't mix. It works as a historical thriller, however it doesn't stand out as a unique, exciting story.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

Book Reviews by Elizabeth A. White

Good
Reviewed by Elizabeth White on Apr 23 2012

Indeed, longtime readers will find The Inquisitor’s Key to be an exciting new entry into an already solid series.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

My Two Blessings

Good
Reviewed by Robin McCormack on Jul 04 2012

It is an excellent thriller that mixes the historical with the present, the religious with the scientific.

Read Full Review of The Inquisitor's Key

Reader Rating for The Inquisitor's Key
76%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 264 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×