The Inside of Out by Jenn Marie Thorne

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

unrated

Synopsis

For fans of Stephanie Perkins, Meg Cabot, and Glee comes a hilarious, romantic, whip smart young adult novel about your best friend finding love before you do, and the lines you’ll cross to stay part of her life.
 
When her best friend Hannah comes out the day before junior year, Daisy is all set to let her ally flag fly. Before you can spell LGBTQIA, she’s leading the charge to end their school’s antiquated ban on same-sex dates at dances—starting with homecoming. And if people assume Daisy herself is gay? Meh, so what. It’s all for Hannah, right? It’s all for the cause. What Daisy doesn’t expect is for “the cause” to blow up—thanks to Adam, the cute college journalist whose interview with Daisy for his college newspaper goes viral, catching fire in the national media. With the story spinning out of control, protesters gathering, Hannah left in the dust of Daisy’s good intentions, and Daisy’s attraction to Adam practically written in lights, Daisy finds herself caught between her bold plans, her bad decisions, and her big fat mouth.
 
A Clueless or Emma for the modern age, this is a breezy, charming, incisive tale of growing up, getting wise, and realizing every story needs a hero—sometimes it's just not you.
 

 

About Jenn Marie Thorne

See more books from this Author
Jenn Marie Thorne graduated from NYU-Tisch with a BFA in drama and quickly realized she was having more fun writing plays, short films, and superhero webisodes than actually performing in them. Then, when a flurry of political scandals hit the news, Jenn wondered what the kids at the center of the media's attention must be going through, and so began The Wrong Side of Right, her debut novel. Jen lives and writes in beautiful Gulfport, Florida, alongside her husband, two sons, and hound dog Molly.
 
Published May 31, 2016 by Dial Books. 428 pages
Genres: Children's Books, Gay & Lesbian, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Inside of Out

Gr 7 Up—High school juniors Daisy and Hannah are best friends. When Hannah comes out as gay, the last thing Daisy expects is for Hannah to start dating Natalie, Daisy's long-standing archenemy. While Daisy is still processing this unforeseen twist of events, she finds out that their school has a ...

Jun 01 2016 | Read Full Review of The Inside of Out
×