The Inward Empire by Christian Donlan
Mapping the Wilds of Mortality and Fatherhood

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

In this poignant book, Donlan finds in curiosity, writing, and family the surest salves for the terror of chronic illness and mortality.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

A Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers Selection
In the vein of The Noonday Demon and When Breath Becomes Air, a father's "remarkable and revelatory" account of navigating his own neurological decline while watching in wonder as his young daughter's brain activity blossoms, a stunning examination of neurology, loss, and the meaning of life. (The Sunday Times)
Soon after his daughter Leontine is born, 36-year old Christian Donlan's world shifted an inch to the left. He started to miss door handles and light switches when reaching for them. He was suddenly unable to fasten the tiny buttons on his new daughter's clothes. These experiences were the early symptoms of multiple sclerosis, an incurable and degenerative neurological illness.

As Leontine starts to investigate the world around her, Donlan too finds himself in a new environment, a "spook country" he calls the "Inward Empire," where reality starts to break down in bizarre, frightening, sometimes beautiful ways. Rather than turning away from this landscape, Donlan summons courage and curiosity and sets out to explore, a tourist in his own body. The result is this exquisitely observed, heartbreaking, and uplifting investigation into the history of neurology, the joys and anxieties of fatherhood, and what remains after everything we take for granted - including the functions that make us feel like ourselves - has been stripped away.

Like Andrew Solomon, Paul Kalathini, and William Styron, Donlan brings meaning, grace, playfulness, and dignity to an experience that terrifies and confounds us all.

 

About Christian Donlan

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 26, 2018 by Little, Brown and Company. 336 pages
Genres: Health, Fitness & Dieting, Parenting & Relationships, Professional & Technical. Non-fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Inward Empire
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

Kirkus

Good
on Apr 11 2018

In this poignant book, Donlan finds in curiosity, writing, and family the surest salves for the terror of chronic illness and mortality.

Read Full Review of The Inward Empire: Mapping th... | See more reviews from Kirkus
×