The Iron Grail by Robert Holdstock
Book 2 of the Merlin Codex

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews


Long before King Arthur is born torule England, the enchanter Merlin is caught up in a tangled web of magic andmayhem, treachery, truth and heady enchantment

Seven centuries have passed since Merlin journeyedwith Jason and his Argonauts to find the Golden Fleece. Merlin is immortal, butwhen he uses the charm that is knit deep in his bones, his body ages - and hehas no wish to be old, so rather than squander his magic, he prefers to rely onhis own intelligence and cunning.

Now the mage finds himself in Alba, the Islandof Mists, beset by enemies both dead and Otherworldly, seeking both thechildren of the warlord Urtha, who have been kidnapped and taken to Ghostland,and Jason's younger son, Kinos (Little Dreamer), hidden by his enchantressmother, Medea in the Otherworld.

Andnow Merlin must use not just his own cunning and centuries of knowledge, butalso the magic that permeates his body if he is to save his friends from fatestruly worse than death itself.


About Robert Holdstock

See more books from this Author
Robert Holdstock (1948 - 2009) Robert Paul Holdstock was born in a remote corner of Kent, sharing his childhood years between the bleak Romney Marsh and the dense woodlands of the Kentish heartlands. He received an MSc in medical zoology and spent several years in the early 1970s in medical research before becoming a full-time writer in 1976. His first published story appeared in the New Worlds magazine in 1968 and for the early part of his career he wrote science fiction. However, it is with fantasy that he is most closely associated. 1984 saw the publication of Mythago Wood, winner of the BSFA and World Fantasy Awards for Best Novel, and widely regarded as one of the key texts of modern fantasy. It and the subsequent 'mythago' novels (including Lavondyss, which won the BSFA Award for Best Novel in 1988) cemented his reputation as the definitive portrayer of the wild wood. His interest in Celtic and Nordic mythology was a consistent theme throughout his fantasy and is most prominently reflected in the acclaimed Merlin Codex trilogy, consisting of Celtika, The Iron Grail and The Broken Kings, published between 2001 and 2007. Among many other works, Holdstock co-wrote Tour of the Universe with Malcolm Edwards, for which rights were sold for a space shuttle simulation ride at the CN Tower in Toronto, and The Emerald Forest, based on John Boorman's film of the same name. His story, 'The Ragthorn', written with friend and fellow author Garry Kilworth, won the World Fantasy Award for Best Novella and the BSFA Award for Short Fiction. Robert Holdstock died in November 2009, just four months after the publication of Avilion, the long-awaited, and sadly final, return to Ryhope Wood. For more information see
Published June 30, 2015 by Gateway. 276 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction