The Keeper of Lost Causes by Jussi Adler-Olsen
The First Department Q Novel (A Department Q)

83%

18 Critic Reviews

The trail to the truth is filled with authentically tedious loose ends and dead ends; the climactic confrontation with the monstrous malefactors is cathartically violent; and the final scene is unexpectedly touching.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

The first book in New York Times bestsellerJussi Adler-Olsen's electrifying Department Q series.

The #1 international bestseller from Jussi Adler-Olsen, author of The Absent One—perfect for fans of Stieg Larsson's The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo 

Carl Mørck used to be one of Copenhagen’s best homicide detectives. Then a hail of bullets destroyed the lives of two fellow cops, and Carl—who didn’t draw his weapon—blames himself. So a promotion is the last thing he expects. But Department Q is a department of one, and Carl’s got only a stack of Copenhagen’s coldest cases for company. His colleagues snicker, but Carl may have the last laugh, because one file keeps nagging at him: a liberal politician vanished five years earlier and is presumed dead. But she isn’t dead … yet.

Darkly humorous, propulsive, and atmospheric, The Keeper of Lost Causes introduces American readers to the mega-bestselling series fast becoming an international sensation.
 

About Jussi Adler-Olsen

See more books from this Author
JUSSI ADLER-OLSEN is Denmark's #1 crime writer and a New York Times bestseller. His books routinely top the bestseller lists in Europe, and he's won many prestigious Nordic crime-writing awards, including the Glass Key Award—also won by Henning Mankell, Jo Nesbø, Stieg Larsson, and Peter Høeg. He lives in Denmark.
 
Published August 23, 2011 by Dutton. 418 pages
Genres: Education & Reference, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Literature & Fiction, Political & Social Sciences, Crime. Fiction
Bestseller Status:
icon22
Peak Rank on Sep 16 2012
icon1
Weeks as Bestseller
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Keeper of Lost Causes
All: 18 | Positive: 15 | Negative: 3

Kirkus

Excellent
on Jun 06 2011

The trail to the truth is filled with authentically tedious loose ends and dead ends; the climactic confrontation with the monstrous malefactors is cathartically violent; and the final scene is unexpectedly touching.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Publishers Weekly

Excellent
on Jun 06 2011

The pages fly by as the twisty puzzle unfolds. Stieg Larsson fans will be delighted.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th... | See more reviews from Publishers Weekly

Examiner

Excellent
Reviewed by Cynthia Crawford on Apr 11 2012

This is a solid mystery. The characters are well-developed, the narrative structure works well, and the mystery is brought to a satisfactory resolution.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Book Reporter

Above average
Reviewed by Joe Hartlaub on Jul 05 2011

The dark joy is the journey and the traveling companions, good, bad and indifferent, who undoubtedly will appear in future volumes of the series.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Oregon Live

Excellent
Reviewed by BARBARA TOM on Sep 07 2011

...clues slowly slip out and pieces begin to fit together about what really happened to Merete. After almost 400 pages, the conclusion is stunning and satisfying.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Macleans

Excellent
Reviewed by Sarah Weinman on Aug 17 2011

...the author’s exuberant voice, attention to detail and creation of a protagonist who invokes but doesn’t suffer from cliché...make us want to read more—and by doing so, Adler-Olsen succeeds in a very big way.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Lincoln Journal Star

Above average
Reviewed by GEORGE WRIGHT on Aug 23 2011

...a juggling act of humor and pathos that drives this mystery to its mind-blowing end.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Mysterious Reviews

Above average
on Feb 08 2013

The Keeper of Lost Causes is a fine start to this series, one that will have readers eagerly looking forward to the next two that have already been published in the author's native Denmark.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Daily Kos

Excellent
Reviewed by Susan from 29 on Nov 21 2011

The Keeper of Lost Causes hooked me at the first page.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

MostlyFiction Book Reviews

Excellent
Reviewed by Bonnie Brody on Sep 10 2011

This is a book filled with great writing, telling a page-turning story. I could not put it down. It has everything I’ve come to expect from the very best Scandinavian writers...

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Portland Book Review

Below average
Reviewed by Stacia Levy on May 18 2012

...the motive of the kidnappers (learned near the end of the story) strains credulity, and the ending seems rushed.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Spinetingler Magazine

Good
Reviewed by Theodore Feit on Jan 21 2013

The characters are real, and the prose smooth with a smattering of wry observations and comments. Truly Carl and Assad are worthy new additions to the genre.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Chamber Four

Above average
Reviewed by Nico Vreeland on Sep 23 2011

Unfortunately, Adler-Olsen’s writing gets muddied by a rough translation, which dilutes his prose and dialogue.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Booklist Online

Good
Reviewed by Keir Graff on Feb 08 2013

...Adler-Olsen’s prose is superior to Larsson’s, his tortures are less discomfiting, and he has a sense of humor.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Mystery Tribune

Excellent
on Feb 08 2013

The plots in the book were very solid, all filled with tension, misdirection and occasionally humor and the combination makes it a must read.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Destination Wake Forest

Above average
Reviewed by Julie on Apr 05 2012

The mystery aspect of this novel kept me guessing from start to nearly the end.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Reviewing the Evidence

Above average
Reviewed by Yvonne Klein on Sep 01 2011

Tiina Nunnalley's translation is readable, though I sometimes had a little trouble deciding if bits were really meant to be funny.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Buried Under Books

Excellent
Reviewed by Patricia Reid on Jul 01 2011

The Keeper of Lost Causes is a long book but I couldn’t turn the pages fast enough and I didn’t want the book to end.

Read Full Review of The Keeper of Lost Causes: Th...

Reader Rating for The Keeper of Lost Causes
85%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1323 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×