The Kill Order by James Dashner
(Maze Runner Prequel)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 36 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, will soon be a movie that hits theaters September 18, 2015! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
They thought the end came in a flash.
 
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
 
The worst is yet to come.
 
Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
 
There is no cure. No escape.
 
They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive.
 
The end is only the beginning.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred




From the Hardcover edition.
 

About James Dashner

See more books from this Author
JAMES DASHNER is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series as well as the books in the 13th Reality series and Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time. He was born and raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about him and his books, visit JamesDashner.com.
 
Published August 14, 2012 by Delacorte Press. 370 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Kill Order

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

A prequel to the series that began with The Maze Runner (2009) takes readers back to the moment when the sun flares devastate the Earth and tells the story of the birth of the killer virus that followed.

Jul 31 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

This prequel to Dashner's dystopian Maze Runner trilogy, set 13 years before those books,focuses on a new character%E2%80%94Mark%E2%80%94who lives through the sun flares that decimate Earth. He crea

Aug 20 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

This prequel to Dashner's dystopian Maze Runner trilogy, set 13 years before those books,focuses on a new character%E2%80%94Mark%E2%80%94who lives through the sun flares that decimate Earth. He crea

Aug 20 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

The Kill Order by James Dashner is the prequel to the Maze Runner trilogy, a young adult post-apocal...The Kill Order by James Dashner features powerful character growth in a post-apocalyptic world.

Aug 28 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

To be honest, I have always been wary of Dashner’s writing because his character development tends to feel stilted.

Aug 28 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

BC Books

See more reviews from this publication

The Kill Order by James Dashner is the prequel to the Maze Runner trilogy, a young adult post-apocalyptic series.

Aug 28 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

Both books also have a high body count and deal with adults sacrificing teenagers “for the greater good.” Read the last Bookshelves of Doom on the must-read 'Throne of Glass.' As the title suggests, much of The Maze Runner consists of scenes in which the main character, you know, runs through a...

Aug 06 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Ink

Although the story may have been written by a best selling author, The Kill Order killed my interest long before I had finished it.

Jan 09 2015 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Ink

Unlike most books I’ve read over the year I actually got caught in the moment with the characters.

Nov 13 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Ink

Teen Ink has 2 forums for you to choose from:.

Oct 02 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Ink

Teen Ink has 2 forums for you to choose from:.

Oct 02 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

USA Today

Mark and Trina search for a way to save others after they survive the sun flares;

Aug 23 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Reads

Mark and Trina are convinced there’s a way to save those left living from descending into madness.

Aug 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Teen Reads

Alec treats Mark with the usual tolerant good humor, which begins Mark's day in a pleasant manner.

Sep 08 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Common Sense Media

The virus kills many people quickly, but others become crazy and violent, swarming together in masses to kill Mark, his friends, and even a little girl who appears to be immune.

Aug 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Kidz World

From the author of The Maze Runner series comes a jaw-dropping prequel that gives you an inside look at how the Flare began.

| Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

http://bittenbybooks.com

Her community is trying to kill her since they have all turned crazy, so the gang has to save her while keeping away from the crazy people.

Apr 20 2015 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Annette's Book Spot

I really liked the Maze Runner series so I'm excited to read the prequel:) I'm glad that it can be read as a separate book from The Maze Runner.

Aug 07 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

https://www.commonsensemedia.org

The virus kills many people quickly, but others become crazy and violent, swarming together in masses to kill Mark, his friends, and even a little girl who appears to be immune.

Oct 02 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Good E-Reader

There’s absolutely nothing wrong with mature content and I vehemently abhor censoring books for young people simply based on the age of the readers, but I do worry about the increased number of books hitting the market with a YA designation that might mislead others into blindly handing them over...

Sep 03 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

http://portlandbookreview.com

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: .

Jun 11 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Escape With Dollycas Into A Good Book

- Review, Guest PostSeptember 24 – Books Are Life - Vita Libri - ReviewSeptember 25 – Mystery Playground – Guest Post September 26 – Melina's Book Blog – Review September 27 – Community Bookstop – Review September 28 – StoreyBook Reviews - Review, Guest PostSeptember 29 – Brooke Blogs - ReviewSe...

Feb 08 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Youth Services Book Review

What did you like about the book?

Sep 06 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Book Nerd

I’ve yet to read a James Dashner novel, but I really, really want to read The Maze Runner!!

Aug 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Bookish

"It's a story about how sometimes we fail to see things that are right in front of us."

Jan 15 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Alice Marvels

I blew through The Maze Runner trilogy but haven’t gotten around to The Kill Order just yet — excited to see how it all started!.

Jan 07 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Alice Marvels

I am still reading the Death Cure so I don’t want to start it yet, but this looks so cool!.

Aug 13 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Imaginary Reads

We love hearing from readers!.

Jan 02 2014 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

SciFi Chick

Mark meets Trina, Alec, and a small group of others who band together after the solar flares to protect themselves against riotous mobs, people driven mad, and those trying to use the situation to their advantage.

Aug 21 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Young Adult Books Central

To prove that your favorite authors — no matter how AWESOME and COOL you think they are — were once awkward, weird, and they geeked out about fandoms and guilty-pleasure music JUST LIKE YOU when they were tee ...

Nov 25 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Emily's Reading Room

The Kill Order is the prequel, but I feel like it is best read after the trilogy.

Aug 22 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Cracking the Cover

“The Kill Order,” by James Dashner, Random House, Aug. 14, 2012, Hardcover, $17.99 (young adult).

Aug 13 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Catching Books

Thank you so much for commenting :) I love reading all comments and they really do make my day!.

Aug 12 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Verve Girl

Mark tries to find out the truth behind the people who shot his villag with a virus, rescuing his best friend, and most importantly, trying to stay sane when the virus starts to claim him.

Aug 14 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Culture Mob

Fans who want one last bite of the world of the Flare virus will be happy – and those who like their novels packed with fights and crashes will be in heaven – but if you’re hoping for something more you’ll wind up disappointed.

Aug 18 2012 | Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P...

Reader Rating for The Kill Order
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1967 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Samantha Heber

Samantha Heber 5 Feb 2015

Added the book to want to read list

×