The Kill Order by James Dashner
(Maze Runner Prequel)

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

These books are all about Telling over Showing. As the reader, you know how the characters feel because the narrator tells you, full stop. Each emotion is spelled out, often in paragraphs-long detail. If you don’t connect, it’s difficult to care. And if you don’t care, it doesn’t matter how much action there is—you’re going to get bored.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Read the fourth book in the #1 New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series, perfect for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent. The first book, The Maze Runner, is now a major motion picture featuring the star of MTV's Teen Wolf, Dylan O’Brien; Kaya Scodelario; Aml Ameen; Will Poulter; and Thomas Brodie-Sangster and the second book, The Scorch Trials, will soon be a movie that hits theaters September 18, 2015! Also look for James Dashner’s newest novels, The Eye of Minds and The Rule of Thoughts, the first two books in the Mortality Doctrine series.
 
They thought the end came in a flash.
 
Before WICKED was formed, before the Glade was built, before Thomas entered the Maze, sun flares hit the earth, killing most of the population.
 
The worst is yet to come.
 
Mark and Trina were there when it happened. They survived. But now a virus is spreading. A virus that fills humans with murderous rage.
 
There is no cure. No escape.
 
They’re convinced that there’s a way to save those who are left—if they can stay alive. Because in this new, devastated world, every life has a price. And to some you’re worth more dead than alive.
 
The end is only the beginning.
 
Praise for the Maze Runner series:
 
"[A] mysterious survival saga that passionate fans describe as a fusion of Lord of the Flies, The Hunger Games, and Lost."—EW.com
 
“Wonderful action writing—fast-paced…but smart and well observed.”—Newsday
 
“[A] nail-biting must-read.”—Seventeen.com
 
“Breathless, cinematic action.” —Publishers Weekly
 
“Heart-pounding to the very last moment.” —Kirkus Reviews
 
“Exclamation-worthy.” —Romantic Times

[STAR] “James Dashner’s illuminating prequel [The Kill Order] will thrill fans of this Maze Runner [series] and prove just as exciting for readers new to the series.”—Shelf Awareness, Starred




From the Hardcover edition.
 

About James Dashner

See more books from this Author
JAMES DASHNER is the author of the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series as well as the books in the 13th Reality series and Infinity Ring Book 1: A Mutiny in Time. He was born and raised in Georgia but now lives and writes in the Rocky Mountains. To learn more about him and his books, visit JamesDashner.com.
 
Published August 14, 2012 by Delacorte Press. 370 pages
Genres: Science Fiction & Fantasy, Young Adult, Action & Adventure, Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Bookmark Counts:
1
Want to Read
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Kill Order
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
Reviewed by Leila Roy on Aug 06 2012

These books are all about Telling over Showing. As the reader, you know how the characters feel because the narrator tells you, full stop. Each emotion is spelled out, often in paragraphs-long detail. If you don’t connect, it’s difficult to care. And if you don’t care, it doesn’t matter how much action there is—you’re going to get bored.

Read Full Review of The Kill Order (Maze Runner P... | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Kill Order
81%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 1967 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review

Reader reviews & activity

Samantha Heber

Samantha Heber 5 Feb 2015

Added the book to want to read list

×