The Lady of Secrets by Susan Carroll
A Novel

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 4 Critic Reviews

unrated

Synopsis

This brilliant new installment in bestselling author Susan Carroll’s mesmerizing Dark Queen historical fiction series is perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory.
 
Queen Catherine de Medici is dead, and for Meg Wolfe—successor in a line of legendary healers and mystics known as “daughters of the earth”—it is a time of new beginnings. She strives to be ordinary, invisible in the mists of Faire Isle, and is determined to put the terrifying days of a wicked mother and turbulent childhood behind her. But soon a summons from King James will rekindle a menacing power from the past, bringing haunting visions of a nightmare already unfolding—and a shattering mystery steeped in magic that will determine a destiny from which she cannot hide.
 
Meg’s task: Save the king from the most insidious form of treachery, invisible to those who do not possess Meg’s extraordinary gifts. But as Meg discovers, there are more sinister motivations at play in the king’s world. Torn between two very different men whose motives and secrets are tied inexorably to her own fate, Meg learns that she can no longer trust anyone or anything—not even her own heart.
 
Praise for Susan Carroll’s Twilight of a Queen
 
“[Susan] Carroll’s vivid portrayal of Catherine de Medici is mesmerizing, but the evil queen does not overshadow either the romance or the strong characterization and plot that are Carroll’s hallmarks.”—RT Book Reviews
 
“Fascinating . . . full of twists and turns and a lot of intriguing historical detail.”—Night Owl Reviews


From the Trade Paperback edition.
 

About Susan Carroll

See more books from this Author
Susan Carroll is an award-winning romance author whose books include The Bride Finder and its two sequels The Night Drifter and Midnight Bride as well as The Painted Veil, Winterbourne, and most recently, The Dark Queen, The Courtesan, The Silver Rose, The Huntress, and Twilight of a Queen. She lives in Rock Island, Illinois.
 
Published December 11, 2012 by Ballantine Books. 450 pages
Genres: History, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Literature & Fiction. Fiction

Unrated Critic Reviews for The Lady of Secrets

Kirkus Reviews

See more reviews from this publication

In this latest of Carroll’s popular series featuring witches, good and evil, of late-Renaissance Europe, the protagonist is Meg Wolfe, the recently anointed Lady of Faire Isle.

Oct 01 2012 | Read Full Review of The Lady of Secrets: A Novel

Publishers Weekly

See more reviews from this publication

But when Sir Patrick Graham comes to Brittany asking for Meg’s help in curing King James of a curse that bears her drowned mother’s particularly poisonous signature, Meg has no choice but to return with him to England, despite oblique warnings from Sir Patrick’s companion, Armagil Blackwood.

Oct 08 2012 | Read Full Review of The Lady of Secrets: A Novel

Historical Novel Society

Meg finds herself summoned to court to help cure the king of a curse inflicted upon him by one of the doomed witches, and Sir Armagil Blackwood, a physician who specializes in treating the residents of London’s slums, is one of her traveling companions, along with Sir Patrick Graham, a courtier w...

| Read Full Review of The Lady of Secrets: A Novel

Geek Speak Magazine

One witch curses him with her dying breath and the other is poor Robbie’s misguided witch sister.

| Read Full Review of The Lady of Secrets: A Novel

Reader Rating for The Lady of Secrets
72%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 35 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×