The Lady of the Lake by Walter Scott

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See Reader Rating


The Lady of the Lake is a narrative poem first published in 1810. Set in the Trossachs region of Scotland, it comprises six cantos, each of which concerns the action of a single day. The poem has three main plots: the contest among three men, Roderick Dhu, James Fitz-James, and Malcolm Graeme, to win the love of Ellen Douglas; the feud and reconciliation of King James V of Scotland and James Douglas; and a war between the lowland Scots and the highland clans.

About Walter Scott

See more books from this Author
J. H. Alexander is senior lecturer in English at the University of Aberdeen.G. A. M. Wood is senior lecturer in English at the University of Stirling.
Published February 17, 2010 by Morrison and Gibb. 231 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Arts & Photography, History, Travel, Business & Economics, Action & Adventure, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy. Non-fiction

Reader Rating for The Lady of the Lake

An aggregated and normalized score based on 16 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes

Rate this book!

Add Review