The Land of Forgotten Girls by Erin Entrada Kelly

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

The book focuses mostly on Sol’s inner struggles, however, and it lacks the momentum to turn its quiet characters into a full-blown tale that effectively handles the class and race issues that it touches upon. A promising story that doesn’t quite find its footing.
-Kirkus

Synopsis

Erin Entrada Kelly, the author of the acclaimed Blackbird Fly, writes with grace, imagination, and deepest heart about family, sisters, and friendship, and about finding and holding on to hope in difficult times.

Two sisters from the Philippines, abandoned by their father and living with their stepmother in Louisiana, fight to make their lives better in this remarkable story for readers of Cynthia Kadohata and Rita Williams-Garcia, and for anyone searching for the true meaning of family.

 

About Erin Entrada Kelly

See more books from this Author
Erin Entrada Kelly grew up in south Louisiana and now lives in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Erin's mother was the first in her family to immigrate to the United States from the Philippines. This is Erin Entrada Kelly's first book.
 
Published March 1, 2016 by Greenwillow Books. 304 pages
Genres: Literature & Fiction, Children's Books. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Land of Forgotten Girls
All: 1 | Positive: 0 | Negative: 1

Kirkus

Below average
on Dec 08 2015

The book focuses mostly on Sol’s inner struggles, however, and it lacks the momentum to turn its quiet characters into a full-blown tale that effectively handles the class and race issues that it touches upon. A promising story that doesn’t quite find its footing.

Read Full Review of The Land of Forgotten Girls | See more reviews from Kirkus

Reader Rating for The Land of Forgotten Girls
94%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 9 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review
×