The Last Good Man by Linda Nagata

No critic rating

Waiting for minimum critic reviews

See 1 Critic Review

Readers who enjoyed Ian Douglas, David Weber, or David Drake will thoroughly enjoy this book. Nagata is rapidly assuming her place among the greats of military science fiction.
-NY Journal of Books

Synopsis

"...a thrilling novel that lays bare the imminent future of warfare."--Publishers Weekly starred review

Scarred by war, in pursuit of truth: Army veteran True Brighton left the service when the development of robotic helicopters made her training as a pilot obsolete. Now she works at Requisite Operations, a private military company established by friend and former Special Ops soldier Lincoln Han. ReqOp has embraced the new technologies. Robotics, big data, and artificial intelligence are all tools used to augment the skills of veteran warfighters-for-hire. But the tragedy of war is still measured in human casualties, and when True makes a chance discovery during a rescue mission, old wounds are ripped open. She's left questioning what she knows of the past, and resolves to pursue the truth, whatever the cost.

The Last Good Man is a powerful, complex, and very human tale.

"...a fantastic, lightning-fast thriller that hits all the right notes: an engaging story set in an all-too-plausible future, advanced technology, plenty of action, and fantastic, well-rounded characters."
--The Verge

From Hugo and Nebula award-winner Greg Bear:
"A new novel by Linda Nagata is always an event. The Last Good Man pulls us into next month's headlines with a conviction and energy that makes for an extraordinary tale."

From Hugo and Nebula award-winner Vonda N. McIntyre:
"The Last Good Man is a compelling and subversive novel, told by unique characters, especially True Brighton: sympathetic, prickly, determined, all too human. Linda Nagata has impressive insights into technological advances and their potential effects.... It was a privilege to read TLGM before its publication."

From Steven Gould, author of Jumper:
"I asked to see an advanced copy of The Last Good Man with the caveat that I was very busy and might not get to it. I was just going to glance at the first few pages but looked up to find myself halfway through the book in the wee hours of the morning. Only an early morning appointment kept me from reading on but I finished it the following evening.
"Welcome to the future of war. Soldiers on the ground depend more on their augmented reality visors, net connections, and hosts of robotic allies, than their rifles, but as long as they tread in harm's way, certain things do not change, including collateral damage, ethical challenges, and the grief of a mother, a warrior herself, when her son dies in action.
"Set where war's bleeding edge of technology slams into people's lives, this is a very human story, brilliantly told."
 

About Linda Nagata

See more books from this Author
 
Published June 20, 2017 by Mythic Island Press LLC. 464 pages
Genres: Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Science Fiction & Fantasy, War. Fiction
Add Critic Review

Critic reviews for The Last Good Man
All: 1 | Positive: 1 | Negative: 0

NY Journal of Books

Good
Reviewed by Jerry Lenaburg on Jun 19 2017

Readers who enjoyed Ian Douglas, David Weber, or David Drake will thoroughly enjoy this book. Nagata is rapidly assuming her place among the greats of military science fiction.

Read Full Review of The Last Good Man | See more reviews from NY Journal of Books

Reader Rating for The Last Good Man
87%

An aggregated and normalized score based on 6 user ratings from iDreamBooks & iTunes


Rate this book!

Add Review